Innovation in Aging Award

The Innovation in Aging Award from the Mayo Clinic Center for Clinical and Translational Science (CCaTS) and the Robert and Arlene Kogod Center on Aging at Mayo Clinic offers funds to support early-stage investigators pursuing novel aging research that has the potential to impact geriatric patient care.

The Innovation in Aging Award is designed for early-stage investigators needing funds to generate preliminary data for extramural funding.

The scope of projects supported by this award mechanism may include any step of the basic to translational to clinical research continuum, including the initial translation of discoveries. Applications may include experienced investigators as collaborators.


The Innovation in Aging Award is focused on early-stage investigators. Research associates, associate consultants, senior associate consultants and consultants from all Mayo sites who have not yet obtained NIH R01 or similar funding are eligible for this award. Individuals in the process of transitioning from mentored career development awards to independent awards are encouraged to apply.

Proposed projects should broadly align with one of the Kogod Center on Aging research programs, which focus on:

  • Aging Bone and Muscle Program
  • Cardiovascular Function and Aging Program
  • Cellular Senescence Program
  • Healthy Aging and Independent Living Program
  • Metabolism, Nutrition and Aging Program
  • Regenerative Medicine and Aging Program
  • Translation and Pharmacology Program


CCaTS and the Kogod Center on Aging anticipate funding up to four awards from this request for applications. Awards provide up to $50,000 a year (direct costs plus indirects) for one year. Extensions are considered only under extenuating circumstances.

Unallowable expenses include capital equipment and computers or laptops.

Recipients of grants or awards supported by CCaTS may be asked to review applications for other CCaTS grants.

Application information


Full grant applications are due by 5:00 p.m. Central time on March 14, 2022. They must be submitted through the START Application Tool (must be logged in to the Mayo Clinic network).

Proposed projects should broadly align with one of the Kogod Center on Aging research programs.

The anticipated award date is July 1, 2022.

Application requirements

Applicants are required to include the following as a PDF attachment with their full applications:

  • Innovation in Aging award checklist
  • Biosketches for faculty team members using the NIH's new biographical sketch format
  • Brief budget justification
  • Letter(s) of support (if applicable)

A formal Mayo Integrated Research Information System (MIRIS) budget prepared by the Office of Sponsored Projects Administration (OSPA) is not required at the time of application. required at the time of application. If the project is selected for funding, the awardee will work with Susan (Sue) J. Rubow and OSPA to create a MIRIS funding proposal and budget.

Review criteria

CCaTS and the Kogod Center on Aging apply the following criteria when reviewing applications for the Innovation on Aging Award:

  • Scientific merit, with a strong emphasis on impact and innovation in aging
  • Likelihood of future extramural funding
  • Feasibility within the time and budget proposed
  • Qualifications of the investigators
  • Evidence of plans for multidisciplinary collaboration or inclusion of translational elements

Prior approval for research involving human participants

Awardees with projects involving human participants are required to submit information to the National Center for Advancing Translational Sciences (NCATS) to obtain prior approval before conducting any activities related to human participants. Documentation includes a Human Subject Plan. CCaTS staff members guide awardees through the process and provide assistance.


Annual progress reports are required for up to two years beyond the end date of the award.


The NIH Public Access Policy requires that all publications resulting from NIH funding be uploaded to PubMed Central. Recipients of CCaTS awards, including intramurally funded awards, must follow this policy. The Mayo Clinic Public Access Policy intranet site (must be logged in to the Mayo Clinic network) guides awardees through the process of uploading publications.

Please remember to cite the Mayo Clinic CCaTS in your publication.


For scientific questions, email Robert J. Pignolo, M.D., Ph.D.

For questions about the request for applications or the START Application Tool, email Susan (Sue) J. Rubow or Laura M. Meiners, M.B.A.