A postdoctoral fellow, who received training in Mayo Clinic's Brain Tumor Stem Cell Research Lab under Dr. Quinones-Hinojosa, is now a fulltime research associate in his lab. Leading the fight against brain and spine cancer

Numerous junior faculty members, research fellows, residents, medical students and other students have received training in Mayo Clinic's Brain Tumor Stem Cell Research Lab.


Dr. Quinones-Hinojosa has personally supervised and mentored numerous undergraduates, medical students, graduate students and research fellows. More recent alumni of his Brain Tumor Stem Cell Research Lab at Mayo Clinic's campus in Florida include:

  • McKinley Roberts, Undergraduate Biomedical Research Internship (U-BRI), 2020-2022
  • Rawan M. Alkharboosh, doctoral student, 2016-2022
  • Rachel Sarabia Estrada, D.V.M., Ph.D., assistant professor of neurosurgery, 2016-2022
  • Alexandra R. Bechtle, Graduate Research Education Program (GREP), 2019-2021
  • Montserrat A. Lara Velazquez, M.D., visiting graduate student, 2016-2021
  • Karim ReFaey, M.B., B.Ch., postdoctoral fellow, 2016-2021
  • Matea Spahiu, Basic Research Internship in Neuroscience and Cancer (BRINC) program, 2020
  • Carla A. Vazquez Ramos, special project associate, 2018-2020
  • Cesar A. Garcia, special project associate, 2017-2020
  • Tito G. Vivas-Buitrago, postdoctoral fellow, 2017-2020
  • Lucie Gourmet, 2019
  • Whisper M. Grayson, Basic Research Internship in Neuroscience and Cancer (BRINC) program, 2019
  • Elizabeth Juarez Diaz, regenerative sciences post-baccalaureate research fellow, 2019
  • Christopher Louie, research trainee, 2018-2019
  • Pierre Miranda Herrera, special project associate, 2018-2019
  • Angela Bohnen, associate surgeon neurosurgery, 2018-2019
  • Sujan K. Mondal, Ph.D., postdoctoral fellow, 2017-2019
  • Marina Rincon Torroella, special project associate, 2017-2019
  • Maarten Rotman, Ph.D., postdoctoral fellow, 2017-2019
  • Leyre Sanchez de Rojas, research trainee, 2018
  • Bernardo Villarreal Espinosa, research trainee, 2018
  • Eva F. Pamias Portalatin, M.D., associate surgeon neurosurgery, 2017-2018
  • Ivan Segura Duran, M.D., postdoctoral fellow, 2017-2018
  • Sara Ganaha, M.D., postdoctoral fellow, 2016-2018
  • Sagar R. Shah, Ph.D., postdoctoral fellow, 2009-2018
  • Mahato Deependra, associate surgeon neurosurgery, 2016-2017
  • Gaetano De Biase, research trainee, 2017
  • Paola Suarez Meade, research trainee, 2017