Kidney Disease Research Training Program


Lieske, John C. M.D.


This program prepares biomedical and clinical scientists for independent investigative careers in academic nephrology and basic renal sciences. M.D. graduates who have commenced or have completed training in clinical nephrology and Ph.D. graduates can apply.

Trainees acquire an in-depth education in renal physiology and/or pathophysiology and skills in the appropriate basic or applied sciences. Clinical and bench research are both available. The program consists of a mentored research training experience and a formal didactic series.

Faculty consist of 32 full faculty members and three associate faculty drawn from the Nephrology Research Unit and other teams at Mayo Clinic in Minnesota, including biochemistry and molecular biology, physiology and biophysics, immunology, pharmacology, and health sciences research. Faculty mentors are responsible for day-to-day supervision of the trainee, and development of an appropriate research project.

The formalized didactic program includes the nephrology core lecture series, grand rounds, journal club, pathology and radiology conferences, as well as individualized conferences in the Departments of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology, Physiology and Biophysics, Immunology and Pharmacology.

The duration of training is a minimum of two, and preferably three, years. The first year of training is supported by this training grant. An effort is being made to obtain alternate sources of funding to support the second and third year of training, if possible, in order to increase the number of candidates who benefit from this training grant; and to provide trainees experience in writing grant proposals.


  1. Burnett, John C. Jr. M.D.
  2. Cosio, Fernando G. M.D.
  3. Ehman, Richard L. M.D.
  4. Farrugia, Gianrico M.D.
  5. Fervenza, Fernando C. M.D., Ph.D.
  6. Garovic, Vesna D. M.D., Ph.D.
  7. Grande, Joseph P. M.D., Ph.D.
  8. Harris, Peter C. Ph.D.
  9. Hogan, Marie C. M.D., Ph.D.
  10. Hu, Jinghua Ph.D.
  11. Isaya, Grazia M.D., Ph.D.
  12. Kumar, Rajiv M.D.
  13. LaRusso, Nicholas F. M.D.
  14. Lerman, Lilach O. M.D., Ph.D.
  15. Lieske, John C. M.D.
  16. McCollough, Cynthia H. Ph.D.
  17. McNiven, Mark A. Ph.D.
  18. Miller, Virginia M. Ph.D.
  19. Milliner, Dawn S. M.D.
  20. Nath, Karl A. M.D.
  21. Ritman, Erik L. M.D., Ph.D.
  22. Romero, Michael F. Ph.D.
  23. Rule, Andrew D. M.D.
  24. Somers, Virend M.D., Ph.D.
  25. Stegall, Mark D. M.D.
  26. Textor, Stephen C. M.D.
  27. Torres, Vicente E. M.D., Ph.D.
  28. Turner, Stephen T. M.D.
  29. Weinshilboum, Richard M.D.
  30. Wettstein, Peter J. Ph.D.


Postdoctoral appointees must have received, as of the beginning date of the NRSA appointment, a Ph.D., M.D. or comparable doctoral degree. Appointees must also be a citizen or non-citizen national of the United States or must have been legally admitted as a permanent resident.