Basic Immunology


Pease, Larry R. Ph.D.


The NIH-funded Ph.D. and M.D./Ph.D. Immunology training programs seek to develop outstanding independent investigators. Students receive didactic training in biochemistry, cell biology, molecular biology, and immunology.

After one year of laboratory research, students develop a written thesis proposal delineating the questions, significance, and approaches to be pursued. The thesis advisor and four faculty mentors meet twice a year with each student. Publication and presentation of thesis research findings at national meetings are emphasized.

Senior students are mentored to identify outstanding postdoctoral training opportunities. 80% of our graduates who have now finished postdoctoral training are independent investigators in academia or industry.


  1. Billadeau, Daniel D. Ph.D.
  2. David, Chella S. Ph.D.
  3. Hedin, Karen E. Ph.D.
  4. Jelinek, Diane F. Ph.D.
  5. Kita, Hirohito M.D.
  6. Kwon, Eugene D. M.D.
  7. Lennon, Vanda A. M.D., Ph.D.
  8. Pease, Larry R. Ph.D.
  9. Rodriguez, Moses M.D.
  10. Vile, Richard G. Ph.D.
  11. Wettstein, Peter J. Ph.D.


Predoctoral appointees must have received a baccalaureate degree by the beginning date of their NRSA appointment, and be enrolled in Mayo's program leading to a Ph.D. in science.

Postdoctoral appointees must have received, as of the beginning date of the NRSA appointment, a Ph.D., M.D. or comparable doctoral degree. Appointees must also be a citizen or non-citizen national of the United States or must have been legally admitted as a permanent resident.