About Dr. Ehman

Richard L. Ehman, M.D., majored in physics during his undergraduate training, and then entered medical school, receiving a Doctor of Medicine degree from the University of Saskatchewan in 1979. He completed a residency in diagnostic radiology at the University of Calgary in 1983 and then undertook a research fellowship at the University of California, San Francisco. He subsequently pursued clinical fellowship training at Mayo Clinic's campus in Rochester, Minnesota, and joined the staff in 1985.

His main clinical focus is body, musculoskeletal and cardiovascular MRI. He has published more than 150 peer-reviewed scientific papers. His research program has focused on developing methods to reduce or eliminate flow and tissue motion artifacts in MRI, approaches for vascular imaging, and development of MRI-based techniques for characterizing the mechanical properties of tissue. Dr. Ehman holds more than 20 patents for his work and is currently the principal investigator of an NIH R37 grant.

Dr. Ehman was awarded the Gold Medal from the International Society for Magnetic Resonance in Medicine (ISMRM) in 1995 for his research contributions. He is a fellow of the American Institute for Medical and Biological Engineering and the American College of Radiology. He was awarded an honorary Doctor of Science degree by the University of Saskatchewan in 2000. In 2010, Dr. Ehman was elected into the Institute of Medicine, now the National Academy of Medicine. The Asian Oceanian Society of Radiology awarded him the Gold Medal in 2016.

Dr. Ehman served as a full member of the Radiology and Nuclear Medicine Study Section of the NIH from 1995 to 1999 and returned to serve as chair from 2002 to 2004. He is an associate editor of Magnetic Resonance in Medicine, and a member of the editorial boards of several other journals. Dr. Ehman served as president of the ISMRM from 2002 to 2003. In 2014, Dr. Ehman served as president of the Society of Computed Body Tomography and Magnetic Resonance. He will serve as president of the Radiological Society of North America from 2016 to 2017.