Review news items related to Mayo Clinic's Nursing Research Division.

  • Clan appointed to editorial board
    • November 2020
    • Linda L. Chlan, Ph.D., R.N., ATSF, FAAN, associate dean for nursing research, was appointed to the editorial board for Nursing Research. Nursing Research is a peer-reviewed journal celebrating more than 60 years as the most sought-after nursing resource. It covers key issues including health promotion, human responses to illness, acute care nursing research, symptom management, cost-effectiveness, vulnerable populations, health services and community-based nursing studies.
  • Chlan abstract awarded gold medal
    • February 2020
    • "Description of pharmacogenomic testing in a cohort of cardiovascular ICU surgical patients," authored by Chlan, L., Nicholson, W., Arendt, C., Moyer, A., Smischney, N., Seelhammer, T., Haney, R., Yaw, E., Krecke, C. and Peterson, P., was the Gold Medal Award recipient at the Society of Critical Care Medicine's 49th Annual Critical Care Congress in Orlando, Florida. The abstract was the highest scored of more than 1,700 accepted abstracts and was recognized at the congress's Podium Presentation Star Research Awards.
  • Rhudy named to neuroscience journal
    • March 2019
    • Lori M. Rhudy, Ph.D., R.N., has been appointed to the editorial board of the Journal of Neuroscience Nursing. Her term begins March 31, 2019, and ends March 31, 2023.
  • McCabe invited to join treatment guidelines working group
    • October 2018
    • Pamela J. McCabe, Ph.D., R.N., FAHA, has been invited to join the American Heart Association and American Diabetes Association working group for the application of evidence-based treatment guidelines for primary and secondary prevention of cardiovascular and stroke events in adults with type 2 diabetes.
  • McCabe appointed to advisory group
    • July 2018
    • Pamela J. McCabe, Ph.D., R.N., FAHA, was appointed to the Atrial Fibrillation Systems of Care Advisory Group. Her term begins July 1, 2018, and ends June 30, 2020.
  • Tofthagen accepts nurse scientist position in Jacksonville, Florida
    • July 2018
    • Cindy Tofthagen, Ph.D., ARNP, AOCNP, FAANP, FAAN, has accepted a nurse scientist position in the Department of Nursing at Mayo Clinic's campus in Jacksonville, Florida.

      Dr. Tofthagen's research expertise closely aligns with the Mayo's competitive strategic growth area concerning care of patients with serious and complex needs, particularly those seeking cutting-edge cancer therapies and palliative care. Dr. Tofthagen is funded by the National Institute on Aging, investigating the application of accelerated resolution therapy for complicated grief in older adults.

      Dr. Tofthagen's previous roles include associate professor with tenure at the University of South Florida College of Nursing in Tampa, serving as the director of the oncology concentration area for the Doctor of Nursing Practice program. In addition, she worked at the National Cancer Institute-designated Moffitt Cancer Center as an oncology nurse practitioner.

  • Chlan inducted into American Thoracic Society
    • February 2018
    • Linda L. Chlan, Ph.D., R.N., ATSF, FAAN, associate dean for nursing research, was inducted as a fellow in the American Thoracic Society. Dr. Chlan is also a member of the society's board of directors.