Ronald C. Petersen, M.D., Ph.D.

Consultant, Department of Neurology, and Director, Alzheimer's Disease Research Center, Mayo Clinic

Watch Dr. Ronald Petersen's Transform 2013 talk.

Ronald C. Petersen, M.D., Ph.D., received a Ph.D. in experimental psychology from the University of Minnesota and graduated from Mayo Clinic School of Medicine in 1980. He completed an internship in medicine at Stanford University Medical Center and returned to Mayo Clinic to complete a residency in neurology.

That was followed by a fellowship in behavioral neurology at Harvard Medical School/Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center in Boston. Dr. Petersen joined the staff of Mayo Clinic in 1986 and became a professor of neurology in 1996. His current research focuses on the study of normal aging, mild cognitive impairment and Alzheimer's disease.

In 2000, he was named the Cora Kanow Professor of Alzheimer's Disease Research. He formerly was the chair of the Alzheimer's Association Medical and Scientific Advisory Council and is now on its board of directors. He is a member of the National Advisory Council on Aging of the National Institute on Aging and is the chair of the Advisory Council on Alzheimer's Research, Care and Services for the National Alzheimer's Project Act.

He is the director of the Mayo Clinic Alzheimer's Disease Research Center and the Mayo Clinic Study of Aging and has authored more than 500 peer-reviewed articles on memory disorders, aging and Alzheimer's disease.

He has edited four books, "Memory Disorders: Research and Clinical Practice," "Mayo Clinic on Alzheimer's Disease," "Mild Cognitive Impairment: Aging to Alzheimer's Disease," and "Mayo Clinic Guide to Alzheimer's Disease."

Dr. Petersen was one of the recipients of the 2004 MetLife Award for Medical Research in Alzheimer's Disease and the 2005 Potamkin Prize for Research in Pick's, Alzheimer's and Related Disorders from the American Academy of Neurology.

Dr. Petersen also received the inaugural Ronald and Nancy Reagan Research Institute Award in 2004 from the Alzheimer's Association and the inaugural Leon Thal Prize from the Lou Ruvo Brain Institute in 2007. In 2012, he received the Khachaturian Award from the Alzheimer's Association.

Oct. 16, 2013