Share on:

Professional Achievement Award

The Mayo Clinic Alumni Association (MCAA) Professional Achievement Award acknowledges significant contributions by an alumnus or alumna of Mayo School of Graduate Medical Education, Mayo Graduate School or Mayo Medical School. Accomplishments must be exceptional in nature and may be in a clinical, research, educational or administrative field. The recipient(s) will demonstrate the commitment of the Mayo brothers to practice, education and research.

As Charles H. Mayo, M.D., said, "Medicine gives only to those who give, but her reward for those who serve is 'finer than much fine gold.'"

The Professional Achievement Award is presented at the MCAA biennial meeting. Travel and hotel expenses are provided. Recipient(s) must attend the biennial meeting in order to receive the award.

Deadline: Nominations must be made by March 1, 2013, for the 2013 award.

Submit nomination

To nominate an MCAA member for the Professional Achievement Award, another MCAA member must submit:

  • A completed nomination form
  • A letter of nomination, which should include specific examples of how the nominee has exceeded expectations in his or her area
  • The nominee's curriculum vitae and bibliography
  • Letters of recommendation
  • Supporting information, such as letters of commendation, awards or newspaper articles

Selection criteria

Considered for the Professional Achievement Award are MCAA members in active practice who meet one or more of the following criteria:

  • Provide exceptional leadership in clinical medicine
  • Promote the art and science of medicine through education
  • Have shown significant leadership ability
  • Are recognized for contributions to the research community
  • Have had early career accomplishments with significant potential for further accomplishments

A committee composed of representatives from the MCAA, as well as the administrator and secretary-treasurer of the MCAA, will review applications and select the recipient(s).


YearRecipientMayo training
2011John R. Wheat, M.D.Internal Medicine (1983)
2009Nicholas F. LaRusso, M.D.Internal Medicine (1972) and Gastroenterology (1975)
2007John Cantwell, M.D.Internal Medicine (1968)
2005Shigeaki Kobayashi, M.D., Ph.D.Surgery (1966) and Neurosurgery (1971)
2003Bernard Harris Jr., M.D.Internal Medicine (1985)


For more information, contact:

  • Nov 9, 2012
  • ART112750