Share on:

Plummer Society Award for Excellence

The Plummer Society Award for Excellence is given by The Plummer Society to a society member each year at a meeting of the Mayo Clinic Alumni Association (MCAA) to honor excellence and unique contributions to internal medicine and subspecialties in practice, education, research or administration.

Deadline: Nominations must be made by Feb. 10, 2013, for the 2013 award.

Submit nomination

Members of The Plummer Society may nominate other members of The Plummer Society for the award by submitting:

  • A completed nomination form
  • A letter of nomination, which should describe in detail how the nominee meets the above selection criteria
  • The nominee's curriculum vitae and bibliography
  • Supporting letters (five are recommended)

Selection criteria

  • Member of The Plummer Society within the MCAA
  • Demonstrated commitment to the field of internal medicine or related subspecialties (or both), and to mentoring future generations of practitioners or scientists
  • Significant achievement in chosen field of internal medicine or subspecialties
  • Influential in his or her field
  • Contributed to the science in his or her field
  • Unique contributions to his or her field of interest in medicine (practice, education, research or administration)
  • Able to be present to accept the award at the MCAA biennial meeting and The Plummer Society meeting

Award components

  • Business class travel expenses to receive the award
  • Two nights' stay in hotel
  • Meeting registration fee waived
  • Award plaque (individual plaque, as well as a master plaque to be displayed in the Department of Medicine)


Year Recipient
2011 S. Ann Colbourne, M.D., FRCPC, FACP
2009 Edward C. Rosenow III, M.D.
2007Henry J. Schultz, M.D.


For more information, contact:

  • Nov 9, 2012
  • ART738453