Share on:

Mayo Clinic Distinguished Alumni Award

The Mayo Clinic Distinguished Alumni Award was established in 1981 by the Mayo Clinic Board of Trustees to acknowledge and show appreciation for the exceptional contributions of Mayo alumni to the field of medicine, including medical practice, research, education and administration. Individuals receiving this award are recognized nationally — and often internationally — in their field.

Deadline: Nominations must be made by March 1, 2013, for the 2013 award.

Submit nomination

Each Mayo Clinic Alumni Association (MCAA) member may nominate one candidate each year. Previously nominated candidates may be nominated again. To nominate an MCAA member for the Mayo Clinic Distinguished Alumni Award, another MCAA member must submit:

  • A completed nomination form
  • A nomination letter summarizing the nominee's attributes and accomplishments
  • The nominee's curriculum vitae and bibliography
  • Letters of recommendation from Mayo alumni or other individuals (generally, at least five letters are included)

Selection criteria

  • Member of the MCAA
  • Achieved national or international peer recognition of accomplishments in education, research, clinical practice or administration
  • Published in significant scientific journals
  • Reached leadership in his or her field
  • Demonstrates professional integrity
  • Able to attend the Mayo Clinic Distinguished Alumni Award dinner (held in October)


Note: Individuals deceased as of Dec. 31, 2008, have an asterisk (*) after their name.
2012Eugene P. DiMagno, M.D.Rochester, Minn.
Thomas F. Luscher, M.D.Zurich, Switzerland
Robert G. Siekert, M.D.Rochester, Minn.
Cornelia M. Weyand, M.D.Stanford, Calif.
2011Richard Brubaker, M.D.Rochester, Minn.
Gene Hunder, M.D.Rochester, Minn.
Keith Kelly, M.D.Rochester, Minn.
Guillermo Ruiz-Arguelles, M.D.Puebla, Mexico
2010David Clapham, M.D., Ph.D.Boston
Eugene B. Kern, M.D.Buffalo, N.Y.
Bernard F. Morrey, M.D.Rochester, Minn.
John Stobo, M.D.San Rafael, Calif.
2009Franklyn G. Knox, M.D., Ph.D.Rochester, Minn.
Irwin Schatz, M.D.Honolulu
Sheldon G. Sheps, M.D.Rochester, Minn.
Jon van Heerden, M.B., Ch.B.Charleston, S.C.
2008Andrew G. Engel, M.D.Rochester, Minn.
Roland Moskowitz, M.D.Cleveland
Peter C. Pairolero, M.D.Rochester, Minn.
Robert Wallace, M.D.McLean, Va.
2007Paul VanHoutte, M.D., Ph.D.Hong Kong
John Braasch, M.D., Ph.D.Lincoln, Mass.
Robert L. Frye, M.D.Rochester, Minn.
Peter J. Dyck, M.D.Rochester, Minn.
2006Hubert Frohmuller, M.D.Wurzburg, Germany
Robert E. Hyatt, M.D.Rochester, Minn.
Philip Lee, M.D.Ventura, Calif.
2005Brian Barratt-Boyes, M.D. *Milford, New Zealand
Richard Winkelmann, M.D., Ph.D.Fountain Hills, Ariz.
Robert A. Kyle, M.D.Rochester, Minn.
2004Edmund Chao, Ph.D.Catonsville, Md.
Kenneth Mann, Ph.D.Grand Isle, Vt.
Howard Andersen, M.D. *Rochester, Minn.
2003Francis Haddy, M.D., Ph.D.Rochester, Minn.
Gertrude M. Tyce, Ph.D.Rochester, Minn.
Jack P. Whisnant, M.D.Rochester, Minn.
2002Valentin Fuster, M.D., Ph.D.New York City
Vay Liang W. Go, M.D.Los Angeles
Kai Rehder, M.D.Vail, Colo.
2001Robert Frater, M.B., Ch.B.Bronxville, N.Y.
Alan Hofmann, M.D.La Jolla, Calif.
John W. Joyce, M.D.Rochester, Minn.
B. Lawrence Riggs, M.D.Rochester, Minn.
2000Suzanne Ildstad, M.D.Louisville, Ky.
William Remine Jr., M.D.Ponte Vedra Beach, Fla.
John Washington, M.D.Cleveland
1999Donato Alarcon-Segovia, M.D. *Mexico City
Leonard Kurland, M.D., Dr. P.H. *Rochester, Minn.
John E. Woods, M.D., Ph.D.Rochester, Minn.
1998Shahbudin Rahimtoola, M.B.Los Angeles
Edward C. Rosenow III, M.D.Rochester, Minn.
Robert White, M.D., Ph.D.Cleveland
1997Arnold Anderson, M.D.Scandia, Minn.
John Blinks, M.D.Friday Harbor, Wash.
Richard Reitemeier, M.D. *Rochester, Minn.
1996E. J. Walter Bowie, M.D. *Rochester, Minn.
Juan Ramon de la Fuente, M.D.Mexico City
Alexander Walt, M.D. *Huntington Woods, Mich.
1995Hugh Butt, M.D. *Rochester, Minn.
Harold O. Perry, M.D.Rochester, Minn.
1994Martin Adson, M.D.Rochester, Minn.
Robert Ryan, M.D.Rochester, Minn.
Harold J. C. Swan, M.D. *Beverly Hills, Calif.
1993Norman Browse, M.D.London
Howard Burchell, M.D.St. Paul, Minn.
Edward Henderson, M.D. *Rochester, Minn.
1992William Manger, M.D., Ph.D.New York City
Vernon Mattox, Ph.D.Rochester, Minn.
Ross Miller, M.D.Hilton Head Island, S.C.
1991James Hunt, M.D.Memphis, Tenn.
Robert Jamplis, M.D. *Palo Alto, Calif.
1990H. Corwin Hinshaw, Ph.D., M.D. *Belvedere, Calif.
Edward Lambert, M.D. *Rochester, Minn.
Kenneth Berge, M.D.Rochester, Minn.
1989John Utz, M.D. *Washington, D.C.
Charles Owen Jr., M.D. *Rochester, Minn.
1988Crowell Beard, M.D. *Redwood City, Calif.
Hillier Baker, M.D.Rochester, Minn.
1987Jesse Edwards, M.D.St. Paul, Minn.
Collin MacCarty, M.D.Rochester, Minn.
1986Charles Edwards, M.D.La Jolla, Calif.
Oliver Beahrs, M.D.Rochester, Minn.
1985John Shepherd, M.D.Rochester, Minn.
Mark Coventry, M.D. *Rochester, Minn.
F. Henry Ellis Jr., Ph.D.Brookline, Mass.
1984Griff Ross, M.D., Ph.D. *Houston
Earl Wood, M.D., Ph.D.Rochester, Minn.
1983L. Emmerson Ward, M.D.Rochester, Minn.
Shervert Frazier Jr., M.D.Concord, Mass.
1982Thomas McElin, M.D. *Chicago
David Dahlin, M.D. *Rochester, Minn.
1981John Kirklin, M.D. *Birmingham, Ala.
Dwight McGoon, M.D. *Rochester, Minn.


For more information, contact:

  • Nov 9, 2012
  • ART103519