Share on:

Humanitarian Award

The Mayo Clinic Alumni Association (MCAA) Humanitarian Award acknowledges significant contributions — beyond any volunteer service to Mayo — by an alumnus or alumna of Mayo's education programs to the welfare of a community or country, or humanity. It recognizes individuals who enrich the lives of people through service to the community in the areas of public health or public service.

The recipient(s) will demonstrate the commitment of the Mayo brothers to serving humanity. As William J. Mayo, M.D., said, "Any person who had physical strength, intellectual capacity or unusual opportunity held such endowments in trust to do with them for others in proportion to his gifts."

The Humanitarian Award is presented at the MCAA biennial meeting. Funded is provided for travel and hotel expenses. Recipient(s) must attend the biennial meeting in order to receive the award.

Deadline: Nominations must be made by March 1, 2013, for the 2013 award.

Submit nomination

To nominate an MCAA member for the Humanitarian Award, another MCAA member must submit:

  • A completed nomination form
  • A letter of nomination, which should include specific examples of how the nominee has contributed to public health or service
  • The nominee's curriculum vitae and bibliography
  • Letters of recommendation
  • Supporting information, which may include letters of commendation, awards, newspaper articles or other information

A committee composed of representatives from the MCAA will review applications and select the recipient(s).

Selection criteria

Considered for the Humanitarian Award are MCAA members who meet one or more of the following criteria:

  • Provide exceptional service through volunteerism or significant service to a population
  • Promote the art and science of medicine
  • Are recognized for contributions to underserved populations or provide services in challenging situations


YearRecipientMayo training
2011C. Robert Stanhope, M.D.Obstetrics and Gynecology (1982)
Larry F. Vukov, M.D.Internal Medicine (1980)
2009William Manger, M.D., Ph.D.Internal Medicine (1955)
John E. Woods, M.D., Ph.D.Surgery (1966) and Plastic Surgery (1968)
2007Eric J. Moore, M.D.Otolaryngology / Head and Neck Surgery (1997)
2005John P. Creasman, M.D.Ophthalmology (1970)
Nestor Sanchez, M.D.Dermatopathology (1981)
2003Kenneth T. Calamia, M.D.Internal Medicine (1978) and Rheumatology (1981)
Rev. William Fryda, M.D.Internal Medicine (1978) and Hematology (1980)


For more information, contact:

  • Nov 9, 2012
  • ART681373