Share on:

Donald C. Balfour Mayo Clinic Alumni Association Research Award

Each year, the Donald C. Balfour Mayo Clinic Alumni Association Research Award recognizes outstanding research by one Mayo School of Graduate Medical Education resident or fellow whose primary training is in a clinical field.

Ideally, nominated research will involve the translation of basic scientific findings into clinical practice at the patient and population levels. This can be novel hypothesis-driven research, clinical (patient-oriented) research or basic science research.

Deadline: Nominations must be made by Feb. 10, 2013, for the 2013 award.

Submit nomination

Any Mayo Clinic faculty member from Arizona, Florida or Minnesota may submit a nomination. A complete nomination includes:

  • A completed nomination form
  • A letter of nomination describing in detail how the nominee meets the award criteria
  • The nominee's curriculum vitae and bibliography
  • Letters of recommendation (five are recommended)

Candidate requirements

  • Resident or fellow who currently holds a clinical appointment — or has completed an appointment within the past year — in medical and laboratory specialties, surgery and surgical specialties, or internal medicine and medical specialties

Selection criteria

  • Originality and significance of the research
  • Strength of letters of reference
  • Number of original publications as first or second author resulting from the nominated research (manuscripts published before Mayo training will not be considered)
  • Number of research or other academic awards
  • Initiative and independent work by the nominee in accomplishing the research
  • Final publication of the research or completion of a thesis for a graduate degree are not prerequisites for consideration for the award
  • Preferred that the research or phase of research considered for an award should be completed prior to nomination

Award components

  • Award of $2,000
  • Certificate of accomplishment

Selection committee

The selection committee comprises scientists from Mayo Clinic and the Mayo Clinic Alumni Association (MCAA). It is appointed by the Executive Committee of the MCAA.


2012Rodolfo Savica, M.D.1995Stuart Robert, M.D.
2011Jonathan N. Johnson, M.D.1994Amir Lerman, M.D.
2010Howard Masuoka, M.D., Ph.D.1993Kenneth Margulies, M.D.
2009Mark J. Truty, M.D.1992Armin Heufelder, M.D., and Mark Perella, M.D.
2008Ondrej Lisy, M.D., Ph.D.1991Margaret M. Redfield, M.D., and Michael J. Joyner, M.D.
2007T. Jared Bunch, M.D.1990Ulrich Specks, M.D.
2006R. Houston Thompson, M.D.1989Brooks S. Edwards, M.D.
2005David Dingli, M.D., Ph.D.1988David O. Warner, M.D.
2004Sean C. Dowdy, M.D.1987Shigenobu Kanba, M.D.
2003Ruben A. Mesa, M.D.1986Terrence D. Lagerlund, M.D.
2002Horng H. Chen, M.D., and Nicholas Vlahakis, M.D.1985Mark S. Allen, M.D.
2001Birgit Kantor, M.D.1984Mark R. Pittelkow, M.D., and Roger Tuck, M.D.
2000Michael J. Ackerman, M.D., Ph.D.1983James Morgan, M.D.
1999David Cable, M.D.1982Kristin Leiferman, M.D.
1998Peter A. Brady, M.B., Ch.B., M.D., and Konstantinos N. Lazaridis, M.D.1981John C. Burnett Jr., M.D.
1997Tracy Stevens, M.D.1980Gregory Mathew, M.D.
1996Tushar C. Patel, M.D.  


For more information, contact:

  • Nov 9, 2012
  • ART201858