Share on:

Mayo Medicine

A special collection called “Mayo Medicine” consists of scholarly works edited, co-edited, authored or co-authored by Mayo Clinic staff.

Mayo Clinic contributions to scholarship span more than 130 years. The first publication appeared in 1871. This was an article entitled “A case of tubular pregnancy, with remarks upon the difficulties attending a correct diagnosis of abdominal tumors.” It was published in Transactions of the Minnesota State Medical Society, and was written by Dr. William W. Mayo, the father of Drs. William J. (Will) and Charles H. (Charlie) Mayo, founders of Mayo Clinic.

The earliest book chapter in the Mayo Medicine collection is entitled “Surgery of the liver, the gallbladder and the biliary ducts” by Drs. Will and Charlie Mayo. The chapter appeared in Surgery, its Principles and Practice published by Saunders in 1908.

The first textbook by Mayo Clinic staff is entitled The Roentgen Diagnosis of Diseases of the Alimentary Canal, written by Drs. Russell D. Carman and Albert Miller, and published in 1917.

Today, approximately 5,350 journal articles authored by Mayo Clinic staff members are published annually, as are approximately 680 books or book chapters.

The growth of Mayo scholarship which includes more recent publications, as well as videos and patents, can be identified on the Mayo Authors Research Publications database.

  • June 25, 2012
  • ART177231