Share on:

Novel Methodology Development Award (NMDA)

Note: This award will not be offered in 2014.

The development of new methodologies is critical to the advancement of translational and clinical research. Mayo Clinic investigators have been actively involved in creating translational research methods, and this competitive and peer-reviewed program provides a dedicated funding mechanism to accelerate such work. The goal is to facilitate development of state-of-the-art tools and innovative modifications of existing methods for translational research and to make them rapidly available to clinical investigators.

Novel Methodology Development Awards support the development of novel clinical and translational methods and can encompass a wide range of techniques. Examples of areas that fall within the scope of this mechanism include:

  • New methods for phenotyping
  • Biomarkers for research
  • Clinical trial design
  • Predictive toxicology
  • Ethics research specific to populations
  • Novel biomedical sensors
  • Clinical informatics for longitudinal studies
  • Novel imaging methods
  • Mass spectrometry-based techniques

Proposed methods should have wide applicability (i.e., not be specific to a narrow range of interests or experiments), and should be ready for dissemination to the clinical research community by the end of the one-year award period. Specifically, methods whose feasibility is questionable should not be developed via this award, since the emphasis in this mechanism is the development of tools that are immediately applicable.


This award will not be offered in 2014.


  • Consultants, senior associate consultants, associate consultants, professional associates in research, and research associates at Mayo Clinic in Rochester
    • Applicants should have an independent laboratory or provide documentation supporting the availability of the resources necessary to perform the proposed development
  • Investigators may not hold more than one concurrent NMDA


  • Funding begins Aug. 1, 2013
  • Protocol funding not to exceed $50,000 in direct costs, although it is anticipated that the majority of awards will be for lesser amounts
  • Protocol duration of one year or less; allocated funds must be spent in one year — no extensions
  • Funds will not be awarded for computers, laptops, or capital equipment greater than $5,000

Additional resources

  • April 25, 2014
  • ART007574