Share on:

New Mayo Clinic CTSA directors named

The Mayo Clinic Center for Translational Science Activities (CTSA) congratulates Sherine E. Gabriel, M.D., on her recent appointment as the dean of Mayo Medical School.

Dr. Gabriel was appointed director of education for the CTSA in 2006 when Mayo Clinic became one of the first institutions to receive a Clinical and Translational Science Award from the National Institutes of Health (NIH). Prior to her appointment, she established the Mayo Clinic clinical and translational science education programs that are a cornerstone of the Mayo Clinic CTSA program today.

"Dr. Gabriel is a pioneer in education. She is the original principal investigator on the K24 and K30 awards that became the foundation for the CTSA education program. She is a national leader in education and comparative effectiveness research, and we are grateful to her for her numerous outstanding contributions to the CTSA and to Mayo," says Robert A. Rizza, M.D., principal investigator of the Mayo Clinic CTSA.

The CTSA is pleased to announce David O. Warner, M.D., as the new director of education resources and Paul V. Targonski, M.D., Ph.D., as the new director of community engagement.

About Dr. Warner

Dr. Warner is a professor of anesthesiology in the College of Medicine, Mayo Clinic, and practices pediatric anesthesiology. He is active in a variety of institutional administrative roles, including serving as the CTSA associate director and co-principal investigator and Mayo Clinic associate dean for clinical and translational research.

Dr. Warner serves as a director for The American Board of Anesthesiology and has given more than 60 invited presentations to national and international meetings. His research interests include pulmonary physiology, outcomes after anesthesia and tobacco control in surgical patients. He has mentored more than 25 research fellows, published more than 180 peer-reviewed manuscripts and authored 18 chapters.

Dr. Warner received his medical degree from The Ohio State University and completed anesthesiology residency and fellowship training at Mayo Clinic in 1988.

About Dr. Targonski

Dr. Targonski is an associate professor of medicine in the College of Medicine, Mayo Clinic, and a primary care physician in the Division of Primary Care Internal Medicine. He is active in a variety of institutional administrative roles, including as medical director of the Mayo Clinic Health System Practice-Based Research Network, vice chair of research for Mayo Clinic Health System, chair of the Community Engagement Committee at Mayo Clinic in Rochester, and medical director of the Office of Community Relations.

Dr. Targonski serves as chair of the NIH CTSA Community Engagement Key Function Committee Task Force on Community Engagement in Translational Research and co-chairs the Practice-Based Research Workgroup. He also serves on the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality Practice-Based Research Network National Steering Committee.

His research interests include genetic and nongenetic contributions to successful aging and continuity of care at the community and clinic interface. He has mentored more than 30 students, research fellows and junior faculty and has participated in numerous academic-community clinical and research partnerships locally, regionally and nationally.

Dr. Targonski received his medical degree and doctoral degree in epidemiology from the University of Illinois, completed his internal medicine residency at Mayo Clinic in 1999, and completed postdoctoral training in statistical genetics and genetic epidemiology at the University of Oxford and Wellcome Trust Centre for Human Genetics, Oxford, England, in 2001.

  • Jan 29, 2013
  • NEW123354