Mayo Clinic Breast Cancer SPORE Grant

Originally awarded: September 2005 ($11.1 million over five years)
Award renewal: September 2011 ($11.385 million over 5 years)
Co-principal investigators: Matthew P. Goetz, M.D. and James N. Ingle, M.D.

Breast Cancer SPORE Grant

The Mayo Clinic Cancer Center is one of 11 cancer research centers to receive a National Cancer Institute (NCI) Specialized Program of Research Excellence (SPORE) grant for breast cancer research. Mayo Clinic's Breast Cancer SPORE supports four main research projects and offers research and career development opportunities for junior investigators.

Researchers in the Mayo Clinic Breast Cancer SPORE collaborate with researchers in multiple other Breast Cancer SPOREs and 15 of the leading breast cancer programs in the United States through the Translational Breast Cancer Research Consortium (TBCRC). This research consortium was established to aid and expedite the development of sophisticated breast cancer research and its application in clinical practice.

Breast Cancer SPORE researchers also collaborate with researchers through the National Institutes of Health's Pharmacogenomics Research Network and with other Mayo Clinic researchers developing individualized breast cancer treatments based on genetics.

Mayo Clinic and the Mayo Clinic Cancer Center provide substantial support to the Breast Cancer SPORE through the Women's Cancer Program, an interactive program within the Mayo Clinic Cancer Center. The Cancer Center's 15 shared resources are key components of the Breast Cancer SPORE cores. James N. Ingle, M.D., is the Breast Cancer SPORE director. He and Sean C. Dowdy, M.D., serve as program co-leaders for the Women's Cancer Program.

The mission of the Mayo Clinic Women's Cancer Program and the Mayo Clinic Breast Cancer SPORE is to perform research that can be quickly applied to clinical practice (translational research). Translational research efforts in breast cancer began at Mayo Clinic in 1994, when Dr. Ingle was awarded a National Institutes of Health Exploratory Developmental Research Grant (R21 grant) to develop a breast cancer research program. Dr. Lynn C. Hartmann served as co-principal investigator for this grant. Productive collaboration and mentoring of junior breast cancer investigators continues to play a key role in Mayo Clinic's Breast Cancer SPORE.

For more information about the Mayo Clinic Breast Cancer SPORE, see: