• The National Institutes of Health renews the CCaTS grant for five years, totaling $48.8 million.

  • The Mayo Clinic Center for Clinical and Translational Science (CCaTS) offers a centralized resource to help facilitate clinical and translational research at Mayo Clinic.

  • Mayo Clinic Research provides a variety of services to all Mayo investigators and study teams. These resources can help you in many areas of your study — from planning, managing, conducting, and engaging the community to education and career development programs and funding opportunities. Discover how CCaTS can help you.

  • The Center for Clinical and Translational Science (CCaTS) at Mayo Clinic provides researchers with access to i2b2, a scalable informatics framework that organizes and transforms patient-oriented clinical data in a way that's optimized for clinical research.

  • SMART IRB is a platform designed to ease common challenges associated with initiating multisite research and to provide a roadmap for institutions to implement the NIH Single IRB Review policy. Mayo Clinic has joined SMART IRB. View this brief video to see how SMART IRB works.

  • The Center for Clinical and Translation Science (CCaTS) at Mayo Clinic joined the Trial Innovation Network to make conducting multi-site clinical trials easier, faster and more efficient. Learn more and submit your proposal.

CCaTS: Accelerating discoveries toward better health

Mayo Clinic's Center for Clinical and Translational Science (CCaTS) is funded by the National Institute of Health's (NIH) Clinical and Translational Science Awards (CTSA) program, grant number UL1TR002377, from the National Center for Advancing Translational Sciences (NCATS).

The CTSA program addresses the development and implementation of national standards and best practices for translation, from basic discovery to clinical and community-engaged research. The program supports a national network of medical research institutions collaborating to transform how clinical and translational science is conducted nationwide.

Mayo Clinic CCaTS is led by Sundeep Khosla, M.D., director of CCaTS and principal investigator of the NIH CTSA grant. Dr. Khosla holds a significant Mayo Clinic leadership role as Dean for Clinical and Translational Science. He has extensive research experience in translational research as well as national and institutional administrative experience.

Dr. Khosla is a member of the NCATS CTSA Steering Committee. The Steering Committee plays a central role in the structure of the CTSA program. It assists in coordinating activities conducted by the CTSA consortium — representing 62 hubs — and provides guidance to NCATS leadership. The committee identifies and recommends best practices and policies that will advance clinical and translational research as a discipline and facilitates collaborations among CTSA and non-CTSA institutions, and with partners in clinical and translational research (industry, laboratories, hospitals).

The content of this website is solely the responsibility of the Mayo Clinic CCaTS and does not necessarily represent the official views of the NIH.


National Institutes of Health (NIH) renews Mayo Clinic's Clinical and Translational Research Award

The NIH has renewed one of Mayo Clinic's largest government research grants for five more years, ensuring support for clinical and translational research and training through 2022. The grant supports Mayo researchers in translating discoveries to address unmet patient needs, while engaging physicians and scientists at all levels.

Researchers report link between cells associated with aging and bone loss

Mayo Clinic researchers have reported a causal link between senescent cells — the cells associated with aging and age-related disease — and bone loss in mice. Targeting these cells led to an increase in bone mass and strength. The findings appear online in Nature Medicine.

Mayo Clinic expert addresses bone and mineral scientists

On the road from clinical need to effective therapy, osteoporosis has come a long way. "When I jointed Mayo in 1988, I could offer calcium, vitamin D, estrogen," says Sundeep Khosla, M.D., "and that was pretty much it."