Interdisciplinary Women's Health Research (IWHR) Program


Miller, Virginia M. Ph.D.


The Mayo Clinic Interdisciplinary Women's Health Research Program is funded by the NIH Office of Research on Women's Health (ORWH) and its cosponsors. The program supports mentored research career development of junior faculty members, known as BIRCWH Scholars, who have recently completed clinical training or postdoctoral fellowships, and who will be engaged in interdisciplinary basic, translational, behavioral, clinical, and/or health services research relevant to women's health or sex/gender factors.

The program offers:

  • An outstanding research experience with interdisciplinary basic and clinician/scientists in specific projects related to women's health.
  • An opportunity for clinical and translational research education through partnership with Mayo Clinic Center for Translational and Clinical Science (CTSA) to obtain a Master of Science Degree in Biomedical Sciences - Clinical & Translational Science; participation in formal interdisciplinary seminars, small group discussions and journal clubs; participation in local, national and international research forums, meetings and workshops.
  • A mentor who is devoted to research in topics of women's health through joint mentoring activities of the scholars with senior faculty.
  • Formal participation in interdisciplinary seminars, leadership opportunities, small group science discussions, and exposure to national and international scientists at seminars, scientific meetings and workshops.

For an application form, please contact Jessica Schmitt at


  1. Bahn, Rebecca S. M.D.
  2. Bharucha, Adil E. MBBS, M.D.
  3. Camilleri, Michael M.D.
  4. Garovic, Vesna D. M.D.
  5. Kantor, Birgit M.D.
  6. Loprinzi, Charles L. M.D.
  7. Lucchinetti, Claudia F. M.D.
  8. Markovic, Svetomir N. M.D., Ph.D.
  9. Miller, Virginia M. Ph.D.
  10. Mulvagh, Sharon L. M.D.
  11. Pruthi, Sandhya M.D.
  12. Rocca, Walter A. M.D.
  13. Smith, Glenn E. Ph.D., L.P.
  14. Somers, Virend M.D., Ph.D.
  15. Spelsberg, Thomas C. Ph.D.
  16. Stewart, Elizabeth (Ebbie) A. M.D.
  17. Veldhuis, Johannes D. M.D.


The BIRCWH Scholar position is a junior faculty appointment, not a fellowship. Two categories of candidates are eligible: Medical doctors who have completed fellowship training and PhD-prepared individuals in a discipline that can be applied to translational research. These degrees include, but are not limited to, the M.D., D.P.H., D.O., D.D.S., Pharm.D., Ph.D., Psy.D., as well as biostatisticians, epidemiologists, behavioral scientists, and nurses with doctoral degrees. Candidates must be a U.S. citizen or non-citizen national, or must have been lawfully admitted for permanent residence and possess an Alien Registration Receipt Card (I-151 or I-155) or some other verification of legal admission as a permanent citizen. Individuals on temporary or student visas are not eligible.

Candidates must have no more than six years of research or research training beyond their last doctoral degree. Candidates will devote at least 75 percent (or at least 50 percent for surgical specialties) of their time to the training grant and must not have a current R01, R29, or subproject of a Program Project, Center grant or an independent mentored career development (K-series) grant or other equivalent research grant award.

Support is in the form of a minimum of two consecutive 12-month appointments, renewable in annual increments for up to five years total, and is contingent upon satisfactory progress as reported to the Advisory Committee and to the NIH in the annual progress report.

Qualified individuals who are members of underrepresented racial and ethnic groups, and candidates with disabilities are encouraged to apply. Scholars are encouraged to apply for independent research grant support during the period of K12 support, and are allowed concurrent salary support only while in the last two years when in compliance with NIH Policy Notice, NOT-OD-04-007.

Applications being accepted through February 1, 2013 for a position beginning July 2013. Submit materials to Jessica Schmitt.

Required application materials include:

  • Cover letter indicating a commitment to an academic career in women's health
  • Mayo Clinic IWHR Program Application (contact Jessica Schmitt at
  • Curriculum vitae
  • A minimum of three letters of recommendation from faculty and mentors