Department Accomplishments

Faculty Awards

Stephen C. Ekker, Ph.D.
Professor, Biochemistry and Molecular Biology

The Mayo Addiction Research Center (MARC), a multidisciplinary center focusing on addiction research, education and treatment, named Stephen Ekker, Ph.D., as its first director. In addition to addiction science research, MARC will focus on training the next generation of scientists and clinicians in addiction research and treatment, as well as educating current health care providers, patients and the public about the complex behavioral, neurological and genomic components of addiction.

Dr. Ekker has been funded over the past decade by the National Institute on Drug Abuse for the development of zebrafish for addiction research.

Peter C. Harris, Ph.D.
Professor, Biochemistry, Molecular Biology and Medicine

Homer Smith Award from the American Society of Nephrology

Rajiv Kumar, M.D.
Professor, Biochemistry, Molecular Biology and Medicine

E.V. McCollum Award from the American Society for Nutrition

Louis V. Avioli Founders Award from the American Society of Bone and Mineral Metabolism

Edward B. Leof, Ph.D.
Professor, Biochemistry, Molecular Biology and Medicine

Merit award from the National Institute of General Medical Sciences (NIGMS)

Dr. Leof's research interest focuses on transforming growth factor-ß; and its downstream pathways that contribute to cellular processes in cancer, fibrotic disorders, immune modulation, and wound healing.

Jan van Duersen, Ph.D.
Professor, Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
Professor, Pediatric and Adolescent Medicine

The Vita Valley Professorship of Cellular Senescence (a nonprofit foundation created by the Noaber Foundation of the Netherlands to accelerate innovation in health care)

Dr. van Duersen is also Director, Mayo Transgenic and Gene Knockout Core Facility, and leads the Cellular Senescence Research Program of the Robert and Arlene Kogod Center on Aging. Dr. van Deursen’s research focuses on mechanisms that regulate development of cancer and aging-related disorders.


  • Pan S, Chen HH, Dickey DM, Boerrigter G, Lee C, Kleppe LS, Hall JL, Lerman A, Redfield MM, Potter LR, Burnett JC Jr, Simari RD. Biodesign of a renal-protective peptide based on alternative splicing of B-type natriuretic peptide. Proc Natl Acad Sci U S A, 2009 Jun 18. [Epub ahead of print]
  • Owen BA, H Lang W, McMurray CT. The nucleotide binding dynamics of human MSH2-MSH3 are lesion dependent. Nat Struct Mol Biol, 2009 May; 16(5):550-7.
  • Wilkes MC, Repellin CE, Hong M, Bracamonte M, Penheiter SG, Borg JP, Leof EB. Erbin and the NF2 tumor suppressor Merlin cooperatively regulate cell-type-specific activation of PAK2 by TGF-beta. Dev Cell, 2009 Mar; 16(3):433-44.
  • Malureanu LA, Jeganathan KB, Hamada M, Wasilewski L, Davenport J, van Deursen JM. BubR1 N terminus acts as a soluble inhibitor of cyclin B degradation by APC/C(Cdc20) in interphase. Dev Cell, 2009 Jan; 16(1):118-31.
  • Pederson L, Ruan M, Westendorf JJ, Khosla S, Oursler MJ. Regulation of bone formation by osteoclasts involves Wnt/BMP signaling and the chemokine sphingosine-1-phosphate. Proc Natl Acad Sci U S A, 2008 Dec; 105(52):20764-9.
  • Nolz JC, Nacusi LP, Segovis CM, Medeiros RB, Mitchell JS, Shimizu Y, Billadeau DD. The WAVE2 complex regulates T cell receptor signaling to integrins via Abland CrkL-C3G-mediated activation of Rap1. J Cell Biol, 2008 Sep; 182(6):1231-44.
  • Li Q, Zhou H, Wurtele H, Davies B, Horazdovsky B, Verreault A, Zhang Z. Acetylation of histone H3 lysine 56 regulates replication-coupled nucleosome assembly.[see comment]. Cell, 2008 Jul; 134(2):244-55.
  • Baker DJ, Perez-Terzic C, Jin F, Pitel K, Niederlander NJ, Jeganathan K, Yamada S, Reyes S, Rowe L, Hiddinga HJ, Eberhardt NL, Terzic A, van Deursen JM. Opposing roles for p16Ink4a and p19Arf in senescence and ageing caused by BubR1 insufficiency. Nat Cell Biol, 2008 Jul; 10(7):825-36.
  • Dawlaty MM, Malureanu L, Jeganathan KB, Kao E, Sustmann C, Tahk S, Shuai K, Grosschedl R, van Deursen JM. Resolution of sister centromeres requires RanBP2-mediated SUMOylation of topoisomerase IIalpha. Cell, 2008 Apr; 133(1):103-15.