News

These Mayo Clinic-issued releases feature news related to the Mayo Clinic Robert D. and Patricia E. Kern Center for the Science of Health Care Delivery. For news about the center from other sources, visit the Mayo Clinic News Network.

December 2015

  1. Overtesting for Diabetes Patients Reaps Negative Rewards Tuesday, December 08, 2015

November 2015

  1. Study: Only 1 in 5 US pancreatic cancer patients get this key blood test at diagnosis Wednesday, November 04, 2015

October 2015

  1. Taking Less Asthma Medicine Can be Done Safely with Guidance Wednesday, October 21, 2015
  2. Specific Protein in Blood Can be Early Predictor of End-Stage Kidney Disease and Death Monday, October 19, 2015

September 2015

  1. Mayo Clinic receives Transforming Clinical Practice Initiative award Tuesday, September 29, 2015
  2. Decision Aids Help Patients with Depression and Doctors Feel Better About Medication Monday, September 28, 2015
  3. Kids with asthma exposed to secondhand smoke have twice as many hospitalizations Thursday, September 24, 2015
  4. Delivery Science Summit – Engineering Better Quality, Outcomes and Cost Friday, September 18, 2015
  5. Changing clinical practice: Too fast or too slow? Thursday, September 17, 2015
  6. Delivery Science Summit 2015 to explore tools, best practices for improving health and health care for patients everywhere Tuesday, September 08, 2015

August 2015

  1. Mayo researchers examine risk factors and patient outcomes associated with colorectal cancer operations, identify benchmarks Monday, August 31, 2015
  2. Mayo Clinic-led networks approved for more than $10 million to participate in PCORnet, the National Patient-Centered Clinical Research Network Thursday, August 13, 2015

June 2015

  1. How Does Human Behavior Lead to Surgical Errors? Mayo Clinic Researchers Count the Ways Monday, June 01, 2015

May 2015

  1. Newer, Easier to Manage Medications May Not Always Be the Best Choice Friday, May 29, 2015
  2. Mayo Clinic to Study 10,000 Patients for Drug-Gene Safety Wednesday, May 13, 2015

March 2015

  1. Work Site Wellness Centers Equate to Weight Loss and Health Care Savings Wednesday, March 25, 2015

February 2015

  1. “Jolie Effect” on Awareness of the Breast Cancer Genes Tuesday, February 10, 2015
  2. Surgical Metrics Do Not Provide a Clear Path to Improvement Tuesday, February 03, 2015

August 2014

  1. Emergency Gallbladder Surgery: Do You Need It, Or Can You Afford to Wait? Monday, August 11, 2014

July 2014

  1. Algorithm Reduces Use of CT Scans when Diagnosing Children with Appendicitis Thursday, July 31, 2014