• Marquis’ Who’s Who in the World, 1999
  • Fellow, American Institute of Medical and Biological Engineering, Elected to Class of 2000
  • Mayo Clinic College of Medicine Clinician Investigator, effective September 16, 2004
  • American Society for Testing and Materials (ASTM) 2005 Joseph Barr Award for contributions to the development of medical device and material standards, May 19, 2005
  • Mayo School of Continuing Medical Education Program’s, Course of the Year Award, 2nd Annual International Spine Symposium, Kona, Hawaii, January 2007
  • Mayo Clinic’s Award for Excellence in Leadership Award, December 19, 2007
  • American Academy of Orthopaedic Surgeons Kappa Delta Elizabeth Winston Award – Feb 25, 2009