Department and Faculty

The Division of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery at Mayo Clinic is part of the Department of Surgery, which was founded by Drs. William J. and Charles H. Mayo (the Mayo brothers). This rich history provides residents and staff with the opportunity to be part of a group of surgeons who have made significant contributions to the history of surgery.

The Division of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery is very clinically productive. The inpatient surgical practice, located at Mayo Clinic Hospital, Saint Marys Campus, performs approximately 1,000 surgeries each year in all areas of the specialty. Our outpatient surgical practice, located in the state-of-the-art Gonda Building, performs approximately 5,000 procedures and sedations each year on adults and children.

Residents are assigned to surgical services for varying periods of time, in a preceptorship model, allowing for the development of close working relationships with various OMS surgeons and upper level residents.

Mayo Clinic's group practice model places the needs of the patient first and foremost in all patient care. Therefore, close collaboration with members of other departments is frequent and expected.

Aug. 14, 2014