Faculty

Faculty research overviews

Faculty members in the Biomedical Engineering and Physiology program have diverse interests and are engaged in a wide variety of research projects.

See overviews of faculty research interests and projects (PDF)

  1. Matthew P. Abdel, M.D.
    1. Associate Professor of Orthopedics
    2. Abdel.Matthew@mayo.edu
  2. Azra Alizad, M.D.
    1. Associate Professor of Medicine
    2. Professor of Biomedical Engineering
    3. Alizad.Azra@mayo.edu
  3. Peter C. Amadio, M.D.
    1. Professor of Orthopedics
    2. Professor of Biomedical Engineering
    3. pamadio@mayo.edu
  4. Marek Belohlavek, M.D., M.S., Ph.D.
    1. Professor of Biomedical Engineering
    2. Professor of Medicine
    3. belohlavek.marek@mayo.edu
  5. Chris J. Beltran, Ph.D.
    1. Associate Professor of Medical Physics
    2. Beltran.Chris@mayo.edu
  6. Arthur Beyder, M.D., Ph.D.
    1. Assistant Professor of Medicine
    2. Assistant Professor of Physiology
    3. Beyder.Arthur@mayo.edu
  7. Frank V. Brozovich, M.D., Ph.D.
    1. Professor of Medicine
    2. Professor of Physiology
    3. Brozovich.Frank@mayo.edu
  8. Thomas P. Burghardt, Ph.D.
    1. Professor of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
    2. burghardt@mayo.edu
  9. John C. Burnett, Jr., M.D.
    1. Professor of Medicine
    2. Professor of Physiology
    3. burnett.john@mayo.edu
  10. Shigao Chen, Ph.D.
    1. Professor of Radiology
    2. Associate Professor of Biomedical Engineering
    3. Chen.Shigao@mayo.edu
  11. Nicholas Chia, Ph.D.
    1. Assistant Professor of Biophysics
    2. Assistant Professor of Surgery
    3. Chia.Nicholas@mayo.edu
  12. Eduardo N. Chini, M.D., Ph.D.
    1. Professor of Anesthesiology
    2. Assistant Professor of Medicine
    3. Professor of Pharmacology
    4. chini.eduardo@mayo.edu
  13. M. (Dan) Dan Dragomir Daescu, Ph.D.
    1. Associate Professor of Biomedical Engineering
    2. DragomirDaescu.Dan@mayo.edu
  14. Gianrico Farrugia, M.D.
    1. Professor of Physiology
    2. Professor of Medicine
    3. farrugia.gianrico@mayo.edu
  15. Mostafa Fatemi, Ph.D.
    1. Professor of Biomedical Engineering
    2. fatemi.mostafa@mayo.edu
  16. Joel P. Felmlee, Ph.D.
    1. Professor of Medical Physics
    2. felmlee.joel@mayo.edu
  17. Barry K. Gilbert, Ph.D.
    1. Professor of Biomedical Engineering
    2. Associate Professor of Physiology
    3. gilbert.barry@mayo.edu
  18. James F. Greenleaf, Ph.D.
    1. Professor of Biomedical Engineering
    2. Associate Professor of Medicine
    3. jfg@mayo.edu
  19. Clifton R. Haider, Ph.D.
    1. Assistant Professor of Biomedical Engineering
    2. Haider.Clifton@mayo.edu
  20. John R. Henley, M.S., Ph.D.
    1. Associate Professor of Neurosurgery
    2. Associate Professor of Physiology
    3. Henley.John@mayo.edu
  21. Timothy Hewett, Ph.D.
    1. Professor of Orthopedics
    2. Professor of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation
    3. Professor of Physiology
    4. Hewett.Timothy@mayo.edu
  22. David R. Holmes, III, Ph.D.
    1. Assistant Professor of Biomedical Engineering
    2. Holmes.David3@mayo.edu
  23. Raymond Iezzi, Jr., M.D.
    1. Associate Professor of Ophthalmology
    2. Iezzi.Raymond@mayo.edu
  24. Bruce D. Johnson, Ph.D.
    1. Professor of Medicine
    2. Professor of Physiology
    3. johnson.bruce@mayo.edu
  25. Kenton R. Kaufman, Ph.D.
    1. Professor of Biomedical Engineering
    2. Kaufman.Kenton@mayo.edu
  26. Sundeep Khosla, M.D.
    1. Professor of Medicine
    2. Professor of Physiology
    3. khosla.sundeep@mayo.edu
  27. James L. Kirkland, M.D., Ph.D.
    1. Professor of Medicine
    2. Professor of Physiology
    3. Kirkland.James@mayo.edu
  28. Nathan K. LeBrasseur, M.S., Ph.D.
    1. Assistant Professor of Physiology
    2. Associate Professor of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation
    3. LeBrasseur.Nathan@mayo.edu
  29. Kendall H. Lee, M.D., Ph.D.
    1. Professor of Physiology
    2. Professor of Neurosurgery
    3. Lee.Kendall@mayo.edu
  30. Shuai Leng, Ph.D.
    1. Associate Professor of Medical Physics
    2. Leng.Shuai@mayo.edu
  31. Lilach O. Lerman, M.D., Ph.D.
    1. Professor of Medicine
    2. Professor of Physiology
    3. lerman.lilach@mayo.edu
  32. David R. Linden, Ph.D.
    1. Assistant Professor of Physiology
    2. Linden.David@mayo.edu
  33. Lichun Lu, Ph.D.
    1. Professor of Biomedical Engineering
    2. Professor of Orthopedics
    3. Lu.Lichun@mayo.edu
  34. J. Luis Lujan, M.S., Ph.D.
    1. Assistant Professor of Biomedical Engineering
    2. Assistant Professor of Neurosurgery
    3. Lujan.Luis@mayo.edu
  35. Slobodan I. Macura, Ph.D.
    1. Professor of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
    2. macura@mayo.edu
  36. Armando Manduca, Ph.D.
    1. Professor of Biomedical Engineering
    2. Associate Professor of Biophysics
    3. Professor of Radiology
    4. manduca.armando@mayo.edu
  37. Carlos B. Mantilla, M.D., Ph.D.
    1. Professor of Anesthesiology
    2. Professor of Physiology
    3. mantilla.carlos@mayo.edu
  38. Aleksey Matveyenko, Ph.D.
    1. Associate Professor of Physiology
    2. Matveyenko.Aleksey@mayo.edu
  39. Cynthia H. McCollough, Ph.D.
    1. Professor of Medical Physics
    2. Professor of Biomedical Engineering
    3. mccollough.cynthia@mayo.edu
  40. Kiaran P. McGee, Ph.D.
    1. Assistant Professor of Biomedical Engineering
    2. Professor of Medical Physics
    3. mcgee.kiaran@mayo.edu
  41. Virginia M. Miller, Ph.D.
    1. Professor of Physiology
    2. Professor of Surgery
    3. miller.virginia@mayo.edu
  42. Jordan D. Miller, Ph.D.
    1. Assistant Professor of Physiology
    2. Associate Professor of Surgery
    3. Miller.Jordan@mayo.edu
  43. Scott L. Nyberg, M.D., Ph.D.
    1. Professor of Biomedical Engineering
    2. Professor of Surgery
    3. Nyberg.Scott@mayo.edu
  44. Michael K. O'Connor, Ph.D.
    1. Professor of Medical Physics
    2. mkoconnor@mayo.edu
  45. Tamas Ordog, M.D.
    1. Professor of Physiology
    2. Ordog.Tamas@mayo.edu
  46. Christina M. Pabelick, M.D.
    1. Professor of Physiology
    2. Professor of Anesthesiology
    3. pabelick.christina@mayo.edu
  47. Yuan-Ping Pang, Ph.D.
    1. Professor of Biophysics
    2. Professor of Pharmacology
    3. pang@mayo.edu
  48. Quinn P. Peterson, Ph.D.
    1. Assistant Professor of Physiology
    2. Peterson.Quinn@mayo.edu
  49. Y. S Prakash, M.D., Ph.D.
    1. Professor of Anesthesiology
    2. Professor of Physiology
    3. prakash.ys@mayo.edu
  50. Qi Qian, M.D.
    1. Professor of Medicine
    2. Professor of Physiology
    3. Qian.Qi@mayo.edu
  51. Alexander Revzin, Ph.D.
    1. Professor of Biomedical Engineering
    2. Revzin.Alexander@mayo.edu
  52. Isobel A. Scarisbrick, Ph.D.
    1. Associate Professor of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation
    2. Associate Professor of Physiology
    3. scarisbrick.isobel@mayo.edu
  53. Gary C. Sieck, Ph.D.
    1. Professor of Anesthesiology
    2. Professor of Physiology
    3. sieck.gary@mayo.edu
  54. Steven M. Sine, Ph.D.
    1. Professor of Pharmacology
    2. Professor of Physiology
    3. sine@mayo.edu
  55. Joseph H. Szurszewski, Ph.D.
    1. Associate Professor of Pharmacology
    2. Professor of Physiology
    3. gijoe@mayo.edu
  56. Daniel J. Tschumperlin, Ph.D.
    1. Associate Professor of Biomedical Engineering
    2. Associate Professor of Physiology
    3. Tschumperlin.Daniel@mayo.edu
  57. Matthew W. Urban, Ph.D.
    1. Associate Professor of Biomedical Engineering
    2. Urban.Matthew@mayo.edu
  58. Michael J. Yaszemski, M.D., Ph.D.
    1. Professor of Orthopedics
    2. Professor of Biomedical Engineering
    3. Yaszemski.Michael@mayo.edu
  59. Lifeng Yu, Ph.D.
    1. Professor of Medical Physics
    2. Yu.Lifeng@mayo.edu
  60. Chunfeng Zhao, M.D.
    1. Professor of Orthopedics
    2. Professor of Biomedical Engineering
    3. Zhao.Chunfeng@mayo.edu
  61. Kristin D. Zhao, Ph.D.
    1. Associate Professor of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation
    2. Assistant Professor of Biomedical Engineering
    3. Zhao.Kristin@mayo.edu
March 06, 2018