The Department of Pharmacology was founded in 1968, four years before the opening of Mayo Medical School, when John R Blinks, M.D. was recruited from Harvard to serve as its first chair. By the early 70s, the Department had established innovative research programs in nerve, muscle, and cardiac cell biology, in drug metabolism, and in the interaction of drugs with excitable tissues.

Research locations

At present, 22 Ph.D and M.D.-Ph.D. candidates are studying and working in the Department, which consists of 9 full-time and 9 joint faculty members in Rochester, Minnesota, together with 5 permanent faculty in Florida, at Mayo Clinic in Jacksonville.

Areas of research

Departmental research programs, mainly located in the modern Guggenheim Building, are heavily supported by research and training grants from the National Institutes of Health, National Science Foundation, Food and Drug Administration, Department of Defense, and by the pharmaceutical and biotechnology industry.

Read more