Lymphoma SPORE Grant

  • Originally awarded: July 2002 ($10.6 million over five years)
  • Award renewal: July 2012 ($11.7 million over five years)
  • Mayo Clinic lead investigator: Thomas Witzig, M.D.
  • Principal investigator: George J. Weiner, M.D., University of Iowa

The goal of the University of Iowa/Mayo Clinic Lymphoma Specialized Program of Research Excellence (SPORE) Grant is to conduct innovative, interactive, translational research in lymphoma and chronic lymphocytic leukemia that accelerates progress in lymphoma research.

The Lymphoma SPORE takes advantage of the combined strengths of the translational lymphoma programs of the Holden Comprehensive Cancer Center at the University of Iowa and the Mayo Clinic Cancer Center — two National Cancer Institute-designated comprehensive cancer centers.

Despite progress in lymphoid malignancies, most types of lymphoma are still incurable. According to the American Cancer Society, more than 69,000 people in the United States will be diagnosed with non-Hodgkin lymphoma in 2013.

In recent years, the Lymphoma SPORE has had numerous research advances. The Lymphoma SPORE identified new tumor markers and made discoveries that led to additional translational lymphoma grants from the NCI, multiple publications and brisk accrual to translational clinical trials.

For more information about the Lymphoma SPORE, see: