Share on:

Nurse-Midwifery Clinical Rotations Program (Minnesota)

Program description

Mayo School of Health Sciences at Mayo Clinic in Rochester, Minn., offers diverse and challenging clinical experiences to students enrolled in the Mayo Clinic Nurse-Midwifery Clinical Rotations Program.

Your college or university director and the Nurse-Midwifery Clinical Rotations program director will work with you to arrange your clinical experience once you have been accepted to the program.

The clinicals are facilitated by Mayo Clinic professional nurse-midwifery staff and provide nurse-midwife students opportunities to work alongside other professionals in a multidisciplinary health care environment.

Students observe and experience the delivery of patient care in a comprehensive health care center that offers:

  • A caring, collaborative environment
  • State-of-the-art diagnostic, therapeutic and research facilities
  • A large, diverse patient population
  • An environment based on a team approach and with a commitment to mutual respect

Affiliated institutions

To participate in the Mayo School of Health Sciences Nurse-Midwifery Clinical Rotations Program, you must be a currently licensed Minnesota registered nurse and enrolled in a master's- or doctorate-level program of an affiliated academic institution.

If your institution is not currently affiliated with Mayo, an affiliation agreement needs to be obtained by Mayo School of Health Sciences prior to your being accepted to the program.


Our affiliated Nurse-Midwifery Clinical Rotations Program is accredited by the Accreditation Commission for Education in Nursing.

See accreditation information for Mayo Clinic College of Medicine.


The Mayo Clinic campus in Rochester includes an extensive outpatient complex, Mayo Clinic Hospital — Rochester, and substantial research and education facilities.

This Mayo Clinic site is among the largest, most advanced medical centers in the world.

Graduation and certification

Students are certified by the American College of Nurse-Midwives (ACNM) governing board at the end of their college experience.

When you successfully complete the master's- or doctorate-level degree in nursing criteria and the nurse-midwifery course work at your affiliated school, you are eligible to take the national certifying exam offered by the American Midwifery Certification Board.

National certification is required in all states for licensed certified nurse-midwives to practice. ACNM rules state that only graduates of ACNM-accredited programs are eligible to take the certification exams, which are given periodically throughout the country.

You also receive a certificate from Mayo School of Health Sciences indicating your successful completion of the Nurse-Midwifery Clinical Rotations Program.


Your clinical experience may include eight-hour clinical days, as well as 12-hour call shifts.

Class size

The program is limited to two nurse-midwifery students at any given rotation. This ensures you receive a comprehensive educational experience with close one-on-one instruction.

  • Dec 27, 2013
  • ART783906