Share on:

Surgical Critical Care Fellowship (Minnesota)

Program description

The Surgical Critical Care Fellowship at Mayo Clinic in Rochester, Minn., is a one-year program. During rotations in this fellowship, fellows gain experience managing critically ill surgical patients from all surgical subspecialties. The Trauma/General Surgical Intensive Care Unit (ICU) is the core rotation and encompasses six months of the fellowship. Fellows also have rotations in the following areas:

  • Vascular/Thoracic ICU and Neuroscience ICU
  • Cardiovascular Surgical ICU
  • Pediatric ICU
  • Transplant ICU
  • Bronchoscopy
  • Hyperbaric medicine

Additional elective rotations in ICU nephrology, ICU medical, acute care surgery and echocardiography are available.

Your level of responsibility will grow as the fellowship progresses. By the end of the year, you should be competent in managing the full range of problems encountered by surgical patients in an ICU. Throughout the fellowship, you will learn from faculty how to manage patients, and you will be mentored in the art of adult education.


The Surgical Critical Care Fellowship at Mayo Clinic is accredited by the Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education (ACGME).


When you successfully complete the Surgical Critical Care Fellowship, you will be eligible to take the Surgical Critical Care Certifying Examination offered by the American Board of Surgery.

Program history

The Surgical Critical Care Fellowship at Mayo Clinic in Rochester, Minn., began in 1992 and became ACGME accredited in 1993. Since that time, more than 22 physicians have completed this fellowship. Two fellows are accepted into the program annually.

  • March 20, 2012
  • ART908787