Share on:

Department and Faculty

Mayo Clinic

Mayo Clinic is the first and largest integrated, not-for-profit group practice in the world. Doctors from every medical specialty work together to care for patients, joined by common systems and a philosophy of "the needs of the patient come first." More than 3,300 physicians, scientists and researchers and 46,000 allied health staff work at Mayo Clinic, which has sites in Rochester, MN, Jacksonville, FL, and Scottsdale/Phoenix, AZ. Collectively, the three locations treat more than half a million people each year.

Mayo Clinic Cancer Center is a National Cancer Institute (NCI)-designated cancer center with a national presence. Its three campuses give Mayo Clinic Cancer Center a broad geographic reach to serve diverse patient populations, and are home to outstanding, internationally recognized physicians and scientists. These individuals collaborate across the full spectrum of cancer research, from basic biology to treatment, seeking to find ways to lessen the burden of cancer on society.

The Department of Radiation Oncology at Mayo Clinic Jacksonville

The Department of Radiation Oncology at Mayo Clinic Jacksonville is part of the nationwide Mayo Clinic organization. Patients in Jacksonville receive the benefits of all Mayo Clinic programs that study and treat malignant diseases.
The Department of Radiation Oncology at Mayo Clinic in Jacksonville is accredited by the American College of Radiology. More than 600 radiation therapy patients are treated here each year. The department has a state-of-the art facility with three Varian linear accelerators, a Nucletron HDR unit, a GE wide bore 16 slice CT simulator, and an Philips Pinnacle treatment planning system for EBRT (external beam radiation therapy) and Radionics planning system for SRS (stereotactic radiosurgery).

The department offers the full spectrum of radiation therapy modalities, including:

  1. External beam radiation therapy with high energy photons and electrons.
  2. 3-D Conformal Radiation Therapy
  3. IMRT - Intensity Modulated Radiation Therapy
  4. IGRT - Image Guided Radiation Therapy
  5. Linac-Based Stereotactic Radiosurgery
  6. Brachytherapy with LDR and HDR techniques
  7. Treatment with Unsealed Sources, including targeted radiopharmaceuticals and radio-immunotherapy

Multiple clinical trials are available for patients. The department actively participates in clinical trials from RTOG, NCCTG, and other groups.


In addition to caring for patients in their clinical practices, the Department of Radiation Oncology faculty members at Mayo Clinic in Jacksonville are committed to teaching and facilitating the growth of medical knowledge.Faculty members in the Department of Radiation Oncology include:

Radiation Oncologists:
Steven J. Buskirk, M.D., Chair
Laura A. Vallow, M.D.
Stephen J. Ko, M.D.
Cherie J. Hayostek, M.D.

Christopher Serago, Ph,D.
Siyong Kim, Ph.D.
Ashley Gale, M.S.

  • ART090484