Share on:

Transplant Hepatology Fellowship (Minnesota)

Program description

The Transplant Hepatology Fellowship at Mayo Clinic's campus in Rochester, Minnesota, is the largest program of its kind in the country. This one-year fellowship offers you a thorough, advanced education in all aspects of hepatology.

The curriculum is carefully designed to provide a balance of transplant and nontransplant clinical, didactic and investigative experience, and to prepare you for a career in academic hepatology. The majority of graduates are currently employed at academic medical centers.

The primary objective is to train superior physicians in the pathophysiological mechanisms, clinical manifestations and management of liver disease. The usual duration of this fellowship is one year, but it may be extended an additional year if funding is available.


The Transplant Hepatology Fellowship is accredited by the Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education.


This fellowship fulfills the requirements for training as stated by the American Board of Internal Medicine, and graduates meet eligibility requirements for transplant hepatology board certification.

Program history

The Transplant Hepatology Fellowship began at Mayo Clinic in 1991 as the Hepatology/Liver Transplant Fellowship and was renamed in 2007.

Since the program began, approximately 40 fellows have completed training in this program. Going forward, it is anticipated that three to four fellows will complete this program annually.

  • May 13, 2016
  • ART125024