Share on:

Infectious Diseases Fellowship (Minnesota)

Infectious Diseases Overview

Infectious Diseases Fellowship

Infectious diseases are the No. 1 cause of death in the world. Identifying pathogens and the infection syndromes they cause and developing patient management strategies is both challenging and rewarding.

Mayo Clinic is a major tertiary care center involved in the management of infectious diseases in patients referred from locations around the world. The vast mix of syndromes seen at Mayo ensures trainees become skilled at management of both common and uncommon infectious diseases.

The panoply of illnesses seen at Mayo Clinic also provides excellent educational experience and research opportunities for trainees interested in clinical and bench activities. Mayo's referral laboratory serves the microbiologic and serologic needs of medical centers globally.

Mayo Clinic's three-year subspecialty infectious diseases fellowship program offers in-depth training and extensive experience in clinical practice, education and research:

  • Clinical infectious diseases in both inpatient and outpatient settings
  • Medical microbiology and laboratory techniques
  • Management of infections in immunocompromised patients, including solid organ and allogeneic hematopoietic stem cell transplant recipients and HIV-infected patients, orthopedic patients, intensive care unit patients, and travelers
  • Opportunities to teach internal medicine residents, Mayo Medical School students and visiting medical school students through bedside instruction and formal didactic lectures
  • Basic, translational, and clinical research in various aspects of infectious diseases

At Mayo Clinic, fellows work closely with an experienced, knowledgeable faculty to ensure their growth in clinical care, research and education. Mayo's infectious diseases fellows gain extensive clinical experience and enjoy tremendous opportunities to learn world-class research techniques and advance their own teaching skills.

Collaborative System of Care
Mayo Clinic's long-standing tradition of practicing both the art and science of medicine was founded on the belief that the needs of the patient come first. In the care of the patients, physicians need to work together, teach and learn from others, and conduct research to provide sustained, excellent patient care.

Physicians, scientists, residents, students, nurses and allied health staff members work as a team at Mayo Clinic. Staff clinicians and scientists are called consultants in recognition of their teaching and mentoring role on the team.

Mayo Clinic's favorable faculty ratio, large patient population and state-of-the-art diagnostic, therapeutic and research facilities combine to create a truly integrated educational experience. The Mayo Clinic way of graduate medical education provides the finest teaching and the broadest patient care experience possible during a busy, hands-on fellowship.

Mayo's infectious disease fellowship program is fully accredited. It was originally accredited by the Liaison Committee on Graduate Medical Education and currently fulfills the requirements for infectious disease training as stated by the American Board of Internal Medicine.

The Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education (ACGME) is now responsible for the Accreditation of post-MD medical training programs within the U.S. ACGME establishes national standards for graduate medical education. ACGME effectively evaluates, approves and continually assesses the quality of graduate medical education programs. It strives to develop evaluation methods and processes that are valid, fair, open and ethical.

Accreditation is accomplished through a peer review process and is based on established standards and guidelines to improve the quality of health in the U.S. by ensuring the integrity of graduate medical education experience for physicians in training.

Mayo's infectious disease fellowship training program received full accreditation by ACGME in 2008 and will be reviewed in 2015.

Certification Fellows are eligible to take the American Board of Internal Medicine subspecialty examination in infectious diseases upon completion of the fellowship.

Program History
The Mayo Clinic Infectious Diseases Fellowship began in 1961. The program has evolved to include a robust basic, translational, and clinical research component and several specialty rotations:

  • Transplant infectious diseases
  • Intensive care infectious diseases
  • Orthopedics infectious diseases
  • Hematology oncology infectious diseases (including bone marrow transplantation)
  • Travel and tropical medicine
  • HIV medicine
  • General infectious diseases

As of July 2010, nearly 100 physicians have completed this program. Three to four fellows complete this training annually.

History of Mayo Clinic

Transplant Medicine

Also See

  • ART344112