Share on:

Department and Faculty

The Department of Anesthesiology at Mayo Clinic is a highly integrated, collaborative group of anesthesiologists. The department comprises 21 staff anesthesiologists, two internists, one pulmonologist, three physician assistants, one pain medicine fellow and more than 34 nurse anesthetists who are committed to providing the best possible care to perioperative patients. Members of the department also conduct clinical research and teach postgraduate and continuing education programs.


In addition to caring for patients in their clinical practices, Mayo Clinic's faculty members are committed to teaching and facilitating the growth of medical knowledge. Many faculty members have published and lectured extensively and are well regarded in their field. You will have direct access to these individuals throughout your training program.


Each resident is assigned a faculty adviser who can provide comprehensive educational advice and personal support.

Visiting professors

Many prominent professors visit Mayo Clinic each year. They present their work during morning and afternoon lectures. You will be encouraged to take full advantage of these opportunities to interact with experts from other academic centers and are excused from clinical assignments to do so.

  • Nov 26, 2012
  • ART607801