Share on:

Anesthesiology Residency (Arizona)

Program description

The Anesthesiology Residency at Mayo Clinic Arizona offers a categorical program, which combines a one-year Transitional Year Residency (PGY-1) with a three-year Anesthesiology Residency (PGY-2 through PGY-4). There is not a separate application for the preliminary year.

The Anesthesiology Residency provides an outstanding clinical anesthesia experience that can be tailored to meet individual educational goals. You will receive thorough preparation for board certification in anesthesiology, extensive didactic training, subspecialty anesthesiology training, and clinical and laboratory research opportunities.

Additional training

To complement Mayo Clinic's Anesthesiology Residency, a one-year accredited fellowship in Pain Medicine is available at the completion of the residency program.


The training program fulfills the requirements for training as stated by the American Board of Anesthesiology and is accredited by the ACGME.


Upon successful completion of the residency, you will be eligible to take the American Board of Anesthesiology examination.

Program history

The Anesthesiology Residency began in 2007. Our first class of CA-3 residents graduated in 2010, with residents completing the program each year since. Prior to 2007, Mayo Clinic in Arizona had been an integral part of Mayo Clinic Minnesota’s Integrated Anesthesiology program. There have been anesthesiology residents training at Mayo Clinic Arizona since 1989.

  • Nov 26, 2012
  • ART529353