Share on:


1840 - 1883

1840 - William Worrall Mayo
  • William Worrall Mayo emigrates from England. He becomes a family doctor in Southern Minnesota. Two of his five children, sons William and Charles, attend medical school and return to join his practice.
  • In 1883 a tornado devastates Rochester, Minn. Dr. W.W. Mayo joins with the Sisters of Saint Francis to care for the injured. This is the genesis of Saint Marys Hospital - now one of the largest teaching hospitals in the world.

1890 - 1917

1890 - 1917
  • Physicians throughout the world travel to Rochester to learn the innovative approaches to medical practice and surgery developed by Drs. William and Charles Mayo — the Mayo brothers. A three-year internship course is established. Interns are designated fellows of the clinic.
  • The Mayo brothers invite other physicians to join them as they pioneer the concept of a medical team working in close collaboration, now known as the group practice.
  • In 1914, the first Mayo Clinic Building is dedicated. It contains many features that remain central to patient care at Mayo and influences the design of future buildings at Mayo Clinic.
  • In 1915, the Mayo brothers use their accumulated personal income ($1.5 million) to establish the Mayo Foundation for Medical Education and Research. All income from the practice is placed in the trust. The physicians draw a salary, a tradition that continues. The Foundation is used to fund stipends for fellows who come to Mayo to study following medical school — the forerunner of the modern residency program.
  • In 1915, Mayo Clinic partners with the University of Minnesota to develop the Mayo School of Graduate Medical Education. It is the first three-year university-based program to train graduate physicians in specialty practice.
  • In1917, the first graduate degrees in Mayo's programs are conferred on two women and two men.

1926 -1972

1926 - 1972
  • In 1926, Mayo Clinic Proceedings begins publication. Today it has one of the largest circulations of any general medical journal.
  • In 1947, approximately 10 percent of all graduate medical students in the United States have completed a residency or fellowship at Mayo Clinic.
  • In 1954, Rochester Methodist Hospital is established.
  • In 1961, approximately 3 percent of all medical faculty in the United States are alumni of the Mayo School of Graduate Medical Education.
  • In 1972, Mayo Medical School opens its doors to a first class of 40 students chosen from 473 applicants.

1982 - 1996

1982 - 1996
  • In 1982, the Minnesota Higher Education Board approves Mayo Foundation as a degree-granting institution for M.D. and Ph.D. degrees.
  • In 1983, the first class is admitted to the Mayo M.D. — Ph.D. Program.
  • In 1986, Mayo Clinic, Saint Marys Hospital and Rochester Methodist Hospital integrate into a single medical center. Also in 1986, Mayo Clinic expands for the first time, opening in Jacksonville, Fla.
  • In 1987, Mayo Clinic expands to Scottsdale, Ariz.
  • In 1988, Mayo Clinic in Arizona establishes its first residency program.
  • In 1991, Mayo Clinic in Florida establishes its first residency program.
  • In 1996, Mayo School of Continuing Medical Education is established. It formalizes the continuing education of physicians that Mayo Clinic has provided for 100 years. Medical professionals throughout the world rely on Mayo Clinic to learn the most advanced medical practices to enhance their patient care skills.


  • In 2004, the name of Mayo Graduate School of Medicine is officially changed to Mayo School of Graduate Medical Education (MSGME). The school maintains full accreditation for all eligible programs.
  • In 2005, MSGME received maximum institutional accreditation status from the Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education.
  • In 2010, the number of physicians and scientists trained at Mayo Clinic surpasses 19,000.
  • Mayo Clinic College of Medicine becomes the unifying name for all Mayo education and research programs.
  • The Mayo Clinic Model of Education is published as a defining guide for Mayo's dedication to medical education excellence.
  • In 2014, Rochester Methodist Hospital and Saint Marys Hospital became a single licensed hospital to better reflect Mayo's integrated hospital practice. As a result, the two campuses are now referred to as Mayo Clinic Hospital, Methodist Campus, and Mayo Clinic Hospital, Saint Marys Campus.
  • Dec 9, 2013
  • ART781518