The Nurse Practitioner or Physician Assistant Critical Care Fellowship prepares individuals for professional practice in critical care unit settings. During this program, learning experiences allow the fellow to:

  • Enhance critical care knowledge
  • Enhance critical-thinking skills
  • Improve time management (multitasking and triaging as appropriate)
  • Develop and enhance critical care procedures and skills

Didactic course work

The Nurse Practitioner or Physician Assistant Critical Care Fellowship will include lectures, modules, Grand Rounds and educational conferences.


At minimum, the fellowship includes these rotations:

  • Coronary care unit
  • Medical intensive care unit
  • Cardiovascular surgical intensive care unit
  • Cardiovascular and thoracic transplant intensive care unit
  • Surgical and trauma intensive care unit
  • Vascular, thoracic and surgical intensive care unit
  • Medical, surgical and transplant intensive care unit
  • Emergency department (Mayo Clinic is a Level 1 Trauma Center)
  • Nephrology intensive care unit service
  • Infectious diseases intensive care unit service
  • Hospital diabetes service
  • Hospital nutrition service

Grading or evaluation

Mayo Clinic School of Health Sciences uses these evaluative tools:

  • Written examination
  • Demonstration of skills
  • Self-assessment exercises
  • Faculty reviews
  • Project participation, formal presentations or publications

Mayo's system of evaluation provides students and faculty with a comprehensive look at individual performance. This allows faculty and administrative staff to direct students who are experiencing academic difficulty to the appropriate support resources, including tutoring programs and counseling opportunities.

Curriculum enhancements

Mayo Clinic School of Health Sciences is committed to developing and maintaining the best education programs. The curriculum and other aspects of this program are assessed constantly and changed as necessary to ensure the highest quality training.

Jan. 24, 2013