Program description

Mayo School of Health Sciences offers a 12-month postgraduate Nurse Practitioner or Physician Assistant Critical Care Fellowship at Mayo Clinic's campus in Rochester, Minnesota. The program trains highly qualified graduate nurse practitioners (NPs) and physician assistants (PAs) to become skilled, compassionate and efficient critical care providers.

The curriculum contains diverse didactic instruction and direct patient care clinical experience embedded in the foundation of Mayo Clinic: excellence in patient care, education and research. This program provides the graduate NP or PA with the training needed to deliver the highest quality care to critically ill or injured patients.

Program goals

  • Develop a deep and broad knowledge base of the common disease processes for which patients are hospitalized, understanding the pathophysiology, various presenting clinical presentations and disease prognosis
  • Develop a diverse differential diagnosis and respective diagnostic and treatment plan based on the patient's presenting symptoms along with evidence-based, cost-effective medical care
  • Enhance knowledge of critically ill or injured patients
  • Develop and increase critical-thinking skills


See accreditation information for Mayo Clinic College of Medicine.


Mayo Clinic's campus in Rochester, Minnesota, includes an extensive outpatient complex, Mayo Clinic Hospital — Rochester, and substantial research and education facilities. This Mayo Clinic site is among the largest, most advanced medical centers in the world.

Mayo Clinic Hospital — Rochester has one of the largest surgical suites in the nation with more than 120 operating rooms. Each year, Mayo Clinic surgeons perform nearly 50,000 surgical procedures — about 200 a day — at the hospital's two campuses. The vast number and type of surgeries, in combination with a highly educated faculty, make Mayo Clinic an ideal educational setting for students in surgical training programs.

Graduation and certification

Upon graduation, fellows receive a Mayo School of Health Sciences certificate documenting completion of a one-year postgraduate fellowship in critical care medicine. This certificate verifies that each fellow has completed all the components listed in the syllabus. Such experience and training will allow fellows to be more competitive for critical care provider positions.


For the majority of the Nurse Practitioner or Physician Assistant Critical Care Fellowship, your learning schedule will include varying shift lengths and rotating shifts, weekend shifts, and holiday shifts. You will spend about 40 to 50 hours each week in the hospital setting. This does not include additional time spent on readings.

Class size

Each year, Mayo School of Health Sciences admits up to two students to the Nurse Practitioner or Physician Assistant Critical Care Fellowship. This ensures you will receive one-on-one instruction and a comprehensive educational experience.

Feb. 19, 2016