Mayo Clinic Psychosomatic Medicine Fellowship team discussing a case

About psychosomatic medicine

Psychosomatic medicine is a subspecialty of psychiatry. Physicians who specialize in psychosomatic medicine have particular expertise in diagnosing and treating patients whose symptoms lie at the interface of structural, metabolic, functional and psychiatric disorders.

Patients helped by psychosomatic medicine psychiatrists may have:

  • Psychiatric or behavioral problems that are caused by medical conditions or medical treatments
  • Physical symptoms that are caused by psychiatric disorders
  • Functional disorders that mimic structural or metabolic diseases
  • Medical and psychiatric diagnoses that complicate each other's management
  • Illness anxiety and other maladaptive health behaviors

Program description

The Psychosomatic Medicine Fellowship at Mayo Clinic's campus in Rochester, Minnesota, is a one-year program of advanced study and clinical experience in evaluating and treating patients with medical-psychiatric problems. The goal of our program is to enhance the skills that you developed as a general psychiatrist and prepare you to become a knowledgeable clinician, teacher, researcher and leader in the field of psychosomatic medicine.

You receive advanced training in hospital-based consultation-liaison psychiatry, outpatient psychosomatic medicine, and models of collaborative care with medical and surgical colleagues in primary and tertiary clinical settings in Rochester, including the:

  • Inpatient consultation-liaison service of Mayo Clinic Hospital — Rochester
  • Outpatient Behavioral Medicine Program and other collaborative care teams in our tertiary practices, such as transplant psychiatry and psycho-oncology
  • Integrated Behavioral Health, our collaborative care program for psychiatric services in Mayo Clinic's primary care practices in Rochester and surrounding communities

For your continuity care practice, you may join one of our existing outpatient collaborative care teams or develop one of your own in an area of medicine or surgery that particularly interests you.

You have mentored opportunities to develop your professional skills in multispecialty collaboration, interdisciplinary team leadership, and teaching of colleagues and trainees. In addition, you have dedicated time for core didactic education, personal scholarship and a quality improvement project.

If you have an interest in research, you may use your elective time to engage in a mentored research project. We have research opportunities for fellows at all levels of research experience, from those who start with no research background to those who already have advanced research education and accomplishments.

Our faculty members are engaged in a wide range of investigations in psychosomatic medicine and clinical health psychology, including clinical trials, translational studies, health systems redesign, and even genetic and molecular investigations. As a fellow, you have an opportunity to participate in an existing study or develop a scholarly project of your own.

Mayo Clinic also offers graduate level coursework in statistics, research design, and related topics leading to graduate certificates or degrees.


The program is fully accredited by the Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education (ACGME).


After successfully completing the program, you are eligible to take the subspecialty certification examination offered by the American Board of Psychiatry and Neurology.

Program history

The Psychosomatic Medicine Fellowship at Mayo Clinic in Rochester, Minnesota, began in 1985. We recruit one fellow annually. Our graduates have established themselves in academic and clinical careers throughout the country.

Sept. 27, 2017