To apply to the Adult Neurology Residency Program, you must have completed four years of medical school and successfully graduated prior to the start of Post-Graduate Year 1.

Requirements for Foreign Medical Graduates

The Neurology Residency Program at Mayo Clinic in Arizona accepts Foreign Medical Graduates under the following guidelines:

ECFMG certification requirements include a series of examinations and direct verification of medical education credentials. Applicants for ECFMG certification must pass the following:

  • Step 1 and Step 2 of the United States Medical Licensing Examination (USMLE)
  • English as a Foreign Language (TOEFL) exam
  • ECRMG Clinical Skills Assessment (CSA)

J-1 Visa Sponsorship (Non-immigrant Visa):

  • ECFMG Certification
  • Official letter or contract offer for a position in an accredited program of graduate medical education or training
  • Provide a statement of need from the Ministry of Health of the country of nationality or last legal permanent residence

Accredited Programs:

  • ECFMG can sponsor only for the length of the Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education (ACGME) accredited program.
  • Mayo Clinic School of Graduate Medical Education will only sponsor the J-1 Visa. MGSM will not sponsor the H-1B Visa.

See also