Share on:

News Archive

This news archive contains alumni news originally posted more than one year ago. For the latest news, visit the alumni news page.

Archived news

  • James Bassingthwaighte, M.D., Ph.D. (internal medicine — 1961; physiology — 1962), was elected a fellow of the International Academy of Medical and Biological Engineering in September 2009.
  • S. Mark Laney, M.D. (pediatric neurology — 1989), president and CEO of Heartland Health, helped that organization to achieve the Malcolm Baldrige National Quality Award and the Foster G. McGaw Prize in 2009. Dr. Laney has served as president of the Mayo Clinic Alumni Association since fall 2009.
  • Jay Smith, M.D. (physical medicine and rehabilitation — 1996), was awarded the inaugural Physiatric Association of Spine, Sports and Occupational Rehabilitation (PASSOR) Legacy Award and Lectureship by the American Academy of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation in 2009. The award recognizes an individual who has advanced musculoskeletal physiatry through clinical care, education, service or research. Read more.
  • William Hazel Jr., M.D. (orthopedics — 1988), is secretary of health and human resources in the cabinet of Virginia Gov. Bob McDonnell.
  • Jonathan Wiens, D.D.S. (prosthodontics — 1979), received the 2009 Andrew J. Ackerman Memorial Award, which recognizes a member of the American Academy of Maxillofacial Prosthetics who has made significant contributions to the advancement of maxillofacial prosthetics.
  • Christopher Dietrich, M.D. (physical medicine and rehabilitation — 2005), was awarded the 2009 Outstanding Young Physician Award by the South Dakota State Medical Association.
  • Markus Kaiser, M.D. (rheumatology — 1998), was appointed an assistant professor of anesthesiology at the Medical College of Wisconsin and also to the medical staff of Froedtert Hospital, a major teaching affiliate of the college.
  • Mary I. O'Conner, M.D. (orthopedics — 1990; orthopedic oncology — 1991), was elected first vice president of the American Association of Hip and Knee Surgeons and second vice president of The Association of Bone and Joint Surgeons. She is also president of the International Society of Limb Salvage.
  • Gudrun Boysen, M.D., Ph.D. (neurology — 1974), is an emeritus professor in the Department of Neurology at Bispebjerg Hospital in Copenhagen, Denmark. She received the Nordic Stroke Award in 2009.
  • Charles Perniciaro, M.D. (dermatology — 1987; dermatopathology — 1993), was awarded the distinction of practitioner of the year by the Florida Society of Dermatology and Dermatologic Surgery at its 2009 annual meeting in Boca Raton, Fla.
  • Ruth Westrick Connolly, M.D. (internal medicine — 1957; psychiatry — 1964), had the Dr. Ruth Westrick Mental Health Unit named for her at the Federal Medical Center in Rochester, Minn., in September 2009.
  • Michael Camilleri, M.D. (gastroenterology — 1984), was named medical director of the Department of Development at Mayo Clinic.
  • David Baines, M.D. (medical degree — 1982), is working alongside his wife, Heidi Baines, M.D., at a community health center in Unalaska, Alaska. Read more (PDF). The couple was also featured in an episode of "Deadliest Catch," a Discovery Channel show about crab fishing in Alaska.
  • Nancy Elwess, Ph.D. (biochemistry — 1996), received the Presidential Award for Excellence in Science, Mathematics and Engineering Mentoring in 2009.
  • John H. Noseworthy, M.D. (neurology — 1980), was named president and CEO of Mayo Clinic in 2009, succeeding Denis A. Cortese, M.D. Read more.
  • Brent Larson, M.D. (orthodontics — 1980), was elected to represent the Midwestern Society of Orthodontists on the Board of Trustees of the American Association of Orthodontists.
  • Marvin Seppala, M.D. (medical degree — 1984), was named chief medical officer of Hazelden, a national nonprofit organization focused on helping people recover from addiction.
  • Daniel J. Berry, M.D. (adult reconstructive surgery — 1991), was elected to the board of directors of the American Academy of Orthopaedic Surgeons as second vice president.
  • Denis A. Cortese, M.D. (internal medicine — 1972; thoracic diseases — 1976), former president and CEO of Mayo Clinic, discussed health care on C-SPAN. Watch interview on YouTube.
  • Oct 26, 2011
  • ART166104