Share on:

Edward C. Kendall Mayo Clinic Alumni Association Research Award

The Edward C. Kendall Mayo Clinic Alumni Association Research Award, named in honor of Edward Kendall, Ph.D., is awarded each year in recognition of outstanding research conducted by an individual whose primary appointment is in research.

Deadline: Nominations must be made by Feb. 10, 2013, for the 2013 award.

Submit nomination

Any Mayo Clinic faculty member from Arizona, Florida or Minnesota may submit a nomination. A complete nomination includes:

  • A completed nomination form
  • A letter of nomination describing in detail how the nominee meets the award criteria
  • The nominee's curriculum vitae and bibliography
  • Letters of recommendation (five are recommended)

Candidate requirements

  • M.D. or Ph.D. degree
  • Currently holds a postdoctoral research training appointment (includes research fellows and research associates, but not fellows eligible for the Balfour Award or visiting scientists) approved by the Mayo Clinic Research Committee, or has completed the appointment within the past year
  • Has received doctoral degree within the past five years
  • Research used to support nomination was done at Mayo during first postdoctoral fellowship

Selection criteria

  • Originality of ideas
  • Excellence of planning
  • Execution and recording of research
  • Significance of results
  • Initiative and independent work by the nominee in accomplishing the research

In the selection process, no distinction will be made based on the source of research funding, and final acceptance for publication of the research is not a prerequisite for award consideration.

Award components

  • Award of $2,000
  • Certificate of accomplishment


2012Darren P. Casey, Ph.D.1996Chuanyue Wu, Ph.D.
2011Jennifer Whitwell, Ph.D.1995Larry M. Karnitz, Ph.D., and Grigory Krapivinsky, Ph.D.
2010Ulrike Modder, Ph.D.1994Chi-Ming Wei, M.D., Ph.D.
2009Junhong Han, Ph.D.1993Merry Jo Oursler, Ph.D.
2008Anantha V. Santhanam, Ph.D.1992Jian-Yu Lu, Ph.D.
2007Farid Mitri, Ph.D.1991James Lechleiter, Ph.D.
2006Alejandro Chade, M.D.1990Motoyasu Ishii, M.D.
2005Liewei Wang, M.D., Ph.D.1989Subhashis Banerjee, M.D., and Gobinda Sarkar, Ph.D.
2004Ali Canbay, M.D.1988Wolf Stapelfeldt, M.D.
2003Joerg Herrmann, M.D.1987Rebecca S. Bahn, M.D.
2002Eduardo N. Chini, M.D.1986Fernando Azpiroz, M.D.
2001Christine Spitzweg, M.D.1985Ronald Tucker, Ph.D.
2000Lorenz Hofbauer, M.D.1984Barbara Beck, Ph.D.
1999James A. Levine, M.D., Ph.D.1983Steven Ackerman, Ph.D.
1998Jagjit Gill, Ph.D.1982Paula Tracy, Ph.D.
1997Martin Holtmann, M.D.1981Michael Nesheim, Ph.D.


For more information, contact:

  • Nov 9, 2012
  • ART609482