1. Home
  2. MOC
  1. Select a Specialty
  2. Find a Course


Certification: An Added Measure of Expertise
Board certification granted by the American Board of Medical Specialties (ABMS) provides assurance of a physician's expertise in a particular specialty or subspecialty of medical practice. The AMBS also governs recertification or maintenance programs.

Maintenance of Certification (MOC) is a multifaceted program that includes educational and continuous improvement activities. MOC helps reduce the administrative burden for physicians, while ensuring they meet high standards of self-evaluation and quality improvement activities.

Mayo Clinic is approved as an MOC portfolio sponsor with the American Board of Internal Medicine (ABIM), American Board of Family Medicine (ABFM) and American Board of Pediatrics (ABP).

Mayo School of Continuous Professional Development (MSCPD) recognizes that changes in health care necessitate advancements in improving and assessing physician performance. The attention on physician performance is heightened by increased regulatory requirements, new technologies, changes in the economy and demographic shifts. Engaging physicians and systems in the effort to improve physician performance is crucial to maintaining a commitment to high-quality patient care at a reasonable cost.

While medical specialty certification in the United States is a voluntary process, it is a condition of employment at Mayo Clinic. Certification, and maintenance of that certification, is an integral part of our continuous professional development program.

By formally incorporating the principles and structure of MOC from the ABMS, we align lifelong learning with our primary value that the needs of the patient come first.

The MOC structure assures that physicians are committed to lifelong learning and competency in a specialty or subspecialty. Ongoing measurement of six core competencies is required: Patient care, medical knowledge, interpersonal and communication skills, professionalism, systems-based practice, and practice-based learning and improvement.

While ABMS guides the MOC process, ABMS' 24 Member Boards set the criteria and curriculum for each specialty. The four-part MOC process includes:

By streamlining the participation in MOC activities and ensuring their relevance to the Mayo Clinic patients and the Mayo Clinic system of care, MSCPD aims to empower physicians with a quality-oriented mindset: Physicians are responsible not only for delivering health care, but also for transforming the delivery of health care through quality improvement efforts and keeping up-to-date on current best practices.

Dedication to lifelong learning combines self-assessment and performance assessment and optimizes the collaborative nature of Mayo Clinic teamwork.

Mayo Clinic Recognized by Three Certifying Boards for Quality Improvement Activities